< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Overseas players locked in for KFC BBL|12 at inaugural Draft

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan

Liam Livingstone, Rashid Khan and Trent Boult headline a list of 24 overseas players selected in the KFC BBL|12 Draft.

The competition’s first Draft for overseas players saw Clubs consider 332 players from 20 countries for coveted positions in their squads for the season.
Seven clubs selected Platinum players in round one, with Livingstone named the competition's inaugural number one Draft selection by the Melbourne Renegades.
Melbourne Stars attempted to pluck Khan from under the noses of Adelaide Strikers with pick two, before he was retained for a sixth straight season in blue.
Boult then became pick three for the Stars, before Sam Billings (Brisbane Heat), Chris Jordan (Sydney Sixers), David Willey (Sydney Thunder) and Shadab Khan (Hobart Hurricanes) were also taken in the opening round. Perth Scorchers passed on their round one selection.
Subsequent rounds saw each of Joe Clarke (Stars), Alex Hales (Thunder), Tymal Mills (Scorchers) and James Vince (Sixers) selected by their KFC BBL|11 Clubs, while Laurie Evans returned to the Scorchers via a retention pick.
Big Bash favourites Colin Munro (Heat), Phil Salt (Scorchers) and Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Renegades) will each have new homes for the upcoming campaign, while exciting newcomers like Asif Ali, Colin de Grandhomme and Adam Hose will each have their first taste of the KFC BBL this summer
The full list of players selected in the KFC BBL|12 Draft is:
Round One
1. Melbourne Renegades: Liam Livingstone
2. Adelaide Strikers: Rashid Khan (Retention)
3. Melbourne Stars: Trent Boult
4. Brisbane Heat: Sam Billings
5. Sydney Sixers: Chris Jordan
6. Perth Scorchers: Pass
7. Sydney Thunder: David Willey
8. Hobart Hurricanes: Shadab Khan
Round Two
9. Melbourne Renegades: Mujeeb Ur Rahman
10. Melbourne Stars: Joe Clarke
11. Brisbane Heat: Colin Munro
12. Perth Scorchers: Laurie Evans (Retention)
13. Sydney Sixers: James Vince
14. Adelaide Strikers: Colin de Grandhomme
15. Sydney Thunder: Alex Hales
16. Hobart Hurricanes: Asif Ali
Round Three
17. Hobart Hurricanes: Faheem Ashraf
18. Sydney Thunder: Rilee Rossouw
19. Perth Scorchers: Phil Salt
20. Adelaide Strikers: Adam Hose
21. Sydney Sixers: Pass
22. Brisbane Heat: Pass
23. Melbourne Stars: Luke Wood
24. Melbourne Renegades: Pass
Round Four
25. Melbourne Renegades: Akeal Hossein
26. Melbourne Stars: Pass
27. Brisbane Heat: Ross Whiteley
28. Sydney Sixers: Izharulhuq Naveed
29. Adelaide Strikers: Pass
30. Perth Scorchers: Tymal Mills
31. Sydney Thunder: Pass
32. Hobart Hurricanes: Pass
The contracting period for replacement overseas players commences tomorrow. Clubs may contract a maximum of seven overseas players for KFC BBL|12, split as either three primary (via Draft night) and four replacements, or two primary and five replacements.
Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager, Big Bash Leagues, said:
“The inaugural KFC BBL Draft was a resounding success and the perfect way to begin the countdown to the summer of Big Bash.
"The League is delighted to welcome a host of the world's biggest names to the competition, complemented by the next group up and comers.
"We'd like to congratulate all Clubs on their recruitment and look forward to seeing the players put on a show for all fans at the game.
"Our thanks also goes to Fox Cricket, plus players and agents from around the world, for their support of the draft concept."
Tickets are now on sale for all Weber WBBL|08 and KFC BBL|12 games. Information is available on the Big Bash website
Fans are also encouraged to stay up to date with the latest information on the KFC BBL|12 season including tickets, memberships and the Draft via our Australian Cricket Family. Not already an ACF member? Sign up here.