< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Paarl Rocks take MSL 2.0 Title with 8 wicket win over Tshwane Spartans

Paarl Rocks celebrations
Henry Davids 77* for Paarl Rocks in the Final against Tshwane Spartans
Dean Elgar batting for Tshwane Spartans

Paarl Rocks won the MSL 2.0 (Mzansi Super League 2019) with an 8 wicket win over Tshwane Spartans at Boland Park today thanks to a brilliant unbeaten 77* from Henry Davids.


Match Summary

Tshwane Spartans 146-5 – (20 Ovs) – (AB de Villiers 51 (37); Tabraiz Shamsi 2-29, Isuru Udana 2-24)

Paarl Rocks 148-2 – (14.2 Ovs) – (Henry Davids 77*, Dwaine Pretorius 43)           

Result - Paarl Rocks won by 8 wickets

Paarl Rocks won the toss and decided to field against Tshwane Spartans in the Final of this year’s MSL at Boland Park.

Tshwane Spartans scored a competitive 146-5, off their 20 Overs, on a slow pitch – AB de Villiers 51(37 balls) top scored and Dean Elgar 22 and Heinrich Klaasen 21 supported well against some tight bowling from Tabraiz Shamsi 2-29, Isuru Udana 2-24 and Kerwin Mungroo 1-21.

In reply, Paarl Rocks stromed to an 8 wicket win thanks to a brilliant unbeaten 77* from Henry Davids, supported by Dwaine Pretorius 43.


 Match Report

The Paarl Rocks were crowned 2019 Mzansi Super League (MSL) champions after Henry Davids struck the quickest half-century of the season to help them slay Tshwane Spartans by eight wickets in the final at Eurolux Boland Park on Monday.

Chasing a modest 148-run target, the veteran opener bludgeoned 77 off 44 balls (8 fours, 4 sixes), including a 22-ball 50, while Dwaine Pretorius plundered 43 off 20 balls as the host cruised to the title with a mighty 34 deliveries to spare.

Tabraiz Shamsi and Isuru Udana had earlier led a fine bowling display on a slow pitch by nabbing two for 29 and two for 24 respectively to restrict the visitors to a below-bar total.

Only AB de Villiers managed to hurt the home side with his 51 off 37 balls (3 fours, 1 six), although that hardly hurt a confident home side, who eventually ran out as deserved winners of MSL 2.0.

Led by Standard Bank Proteas captain Faf du Plessis, the Rocks had been efficient all season, boxing smartly throughout despite some limitations in their squad brought upon due to injuries.

Having topped the regular season table to secure an automatic passage to the final, they won the toss in the decider and opted to put in the opposition in front of a sell-out crowd.

It proved the right call too by Du Plessis as there was no explosive start or middle-over burst by the Spartans despite boasting plenty of wickets in hand.

Kerwin Mungroo (1/21) and Udana were outstanding up front, with Bjorn Fortuin (0/23) and Shamsi following closely in their footsteps.

Apart from De Villiers, Dean Elgar (22 off 22 balls), Heinrich Klaasen (21 off 19 balls) and Pite van Biljon (19 off 20 balls) all got starts, but not those associated with 20-over cricket – which ultimately proved damaging to the run-rate.

They had reached 91 for three in the 13th over, but the kick needed in the end did not arrive as they eventually limped to 147 for six in what was Mark Boucher’s farewell match, before assuming his position as South Africa coach this week.

Davids then went berserk at the start of the reply, plundering the bowling to all parts of Boland Park – much to the delight of the partisan hope crowd.

He put on 80 for the first wicket with Cameron Delport (18), before a riveting 52-run stand between Pretorius and Davids in just 5.3 overs put Paarl on the brink.

Du Plessis then finished the job alongside the local hero Davids, completing a memorable competition for the home side more than five overs early.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) congratulate Paarl Rocks

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has congratulated the Paarl Rocks on being crowned Mzansi Super League (MSL 2.0) champions.

The Rocks claimed the title when they beat the Spartans by 8 wickets in an exciting climax to the competition in front of a packed crowd at Eurolux Boland Park last night.

“Congratulations to our deserving champions,” commented CSA Acting Chief Executive Dr. Jacques Faul, “and indeed congratulations go to all the teams for making this a thrilling tournament in spite of the severe weather conditions that disrupted it at times.

“The fact that five of the six teams were still in contention for the knock-out phase right up to the last round of league play says it all. One of the standout features for me has been the commitment of our players which has resulted in a very high standard of play that stands comparison with similar tournaments around the world.

“There have been numerous standout individual performances, record run chases and the emergence of exciting new talent.

“The tournament continues to grow into a top product that has drawn a big television audience both here through our partners, the SABC, and around the world. Spectator numbers are also showing growth as was witnessed by our full house at the final this evening.

“I would also like to congratulate our tournament director, Russell Adams, and the staff of CSA and the various franchises for an extremely well run event that measured up to the best professional standards,” concluded Dr. Faul.


Match Details


Paarl Rocks - Henry Davids, Cameron Delport, Faf du Plessis(c), Dwaine Pretorius, Kyle Verreynne(wk), Sibonelo Makhanya, Isuru Udana, Ferisco Adams, Bjorn Fortuin, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kerwin Mungroo

Tshwane Spartans - Dean Elgar, Tony de Zorzi, AB de Villiers, Heinrich Klaasen(c)(wk), Pite van Biljon, David Wiese, Roelof van der Merwe, Corbin Bosch, Morne Morkel, Lutho Sipamla, Imran Manack


Start Time: 15:30

Toss: Paarl Rocks won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Boland Park, Paarl

Officials: Allahudien Paleker, Bongani Jele, Brad White, Stephen Harris, Gerhardus Pienaar


 ©Cricket World 2019