< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pak v HK, Match 6, Asia Cup 2022: Pakistan storm into Super 4 with massive win

Pakistan stormed into Super 4 of Asia Cup 2022 with a massive 155 run win over Hong Kong at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday night.

Asked to bat first, Pakistan posted 193 for two in their 20 overs and in their response Hong Kong was shot out for 38 in 10.4 overs.

Earlier, Pakistan lost their captain Babar Azam cheaply. Then Mohammad Rizwan added 116 runs for the second wicket with Fakhar Zaman. The pair stabilised the innings with a measured approach. Zaman finished on 53 off 41 balls with three boundaries and two sixes. Towards the end, Rizwan added an unbeaten 64 runs for the third wicket with Khushdil Shah. Rizwan ended unbeaten on 78 off 57 balls with six boundaries and a six. Shah struck four sixes in the final over as he finished unbeaten on 35 off 15 balls with five sixes. For Hong Kong the best bowler was Ehsan Khan (2-28).

In their response, Hong Kong lost wickets at regular intervals. They just could not get going against accurate Pakistan bowling. The pace of Naseem Shah (2-7) was too hot for Hong Kong. That broke the back of the batting. Then the spinners took over and they spun the Hong Kong batters out. Shadab Khan (4-8) and Mohammad Nawaz (3-5) were just too good for Hong Kong's inexperienced batting line-up. Hong Kong innings never really took off and in the end they were bowled out for a mere 38 in 10.4 overs.

The Super 4 stage of Asia Cup 2022 begins on Saturday with a clash between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. 

Match Summary
Pakistan: 193-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Babar Azam-2.5 ov), 2-129 (Fakhar Zaman- 16.1 ov)

Hong Kong: 38 (10.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Nizakat Khan-2.1 ov), 2-16 (Babar Hayat-2.5 ov), 3-19 (Yasim Murtaza-4.5 ov), 4-25 (Aizaz Khan-6.2 ov), 5-30 (Kinchit Shah-7.3 ov), 6-31 (Scott McKechnie-7.5 ov), 7-36 (Haroon Arshad-8.6 ov), 8-36 (Zeeshan Ali-9.1 ov), 9-38 (Ayush Shukla-10.1 ov), 10-38 (Mohammad Ghazanfar-10.4 ov)


Result: Pakistan won by 155 runs

Playing XIs
Hong Kong: Nizakat Khan (captain), Babar Hayat, Yasim Murtaza, Kinchit Shah, Scott McKechnie (wicket-keeper), Haroon Arshad, Aizaz Khan, Zeeshan Ali, Ehsan Khan, Ayush Shukla, Mohammad Ghazanfar

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shahnawaz Dahani 

Match Details
Toss: Hong Kong, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Raveendra Wimalasiri, Ruchira Palliyaguruge (On-field Umpires); Masudur Rahman (TV Umpire); Bismillah Jan Shinwari (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022