< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
 

Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez calls ICC's process for suspect bowling actions into question

Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez
©Reuters
 

Days after Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez was given a nod to bowl in international cricket, he has questioned the ICC’s process of reporting bowlers for suspect actions.

The all-rounder was suspended from bowling last year during the ODI series against Sri Lanka after being reported for a suspect action for the third time.

 All the same, after reassessment at the Loughborough University, it was found that Hafeez’s elbow extension was within the permissible 15-degree limit and therefore, he was permitted to bowl in International matches.

In an interview given to BBC Urdu, Hafeez was of the opinion that ICC officials were lenient in reporting bowlers from certain countries and said that he had doubts about ICC’s calling system.

"There are so many things influencing all this - it has a lot to do with the power of [some] boards and nobody wants to take them on. Mostly there are soft corners and relations between people which no one wants to spoil. What I say is why not implement the rule and get every bowler in the world to go through [testing]. What's the difficulty in that?

“When match umpires called me, I went for my test only to find the flex was recorded up to 16, 17 and 18 degrees. I was surprised: how can anyone with the naked eye see flex from 15 to 16, when at times they are not able to call those whose flex is 25 and even 30-plus? So I have my doubts about this calling system. This is suspicious: why are match referees or on-field umpires not able to see those flexing up to 35 but me with 16 degrees?"

In his career, Hafeez has been suspended from bowling three times. The first incident dates back to 2005 in an ODI tri-series in Australia in 2005. A decade later, he was again reported for his bowling action during the Champions League T20. This was followed up closely during a Test match against New Zealand in the same year.

© Cricket World 2018