< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 67 runs in 2nd ODI - Pakistan cricket back on the track

Pakistan's Babar Azam 118 against Sri Lanka

Pakistan, the host, was simply too good in the second ODI of the three-match series at National Stadium, Karachi as they beat Sri Lanka convincingly by 67 runs.

Match Summary

Pakistan 305 – 7 (Fakhar Zaman 54, Babar Azam 118)

Sri Lanka 238 (Shehan Jayasuriya 96, Dasun Shanaka 68; Usman Shinwari 5-51)

Result – Pakistan won by 67 runs



 The home side, with far more experience in its camp, was the better side in a day-night fixture played in hot and humid conditions.

At last the rains in Karachi halted for both Pakistan and Sri Lanka to take the field in the second ODI of the series. It was certainly a momentous occasion for Pakistan cricket, hosting a fifty-over match, after a long ten year wait. The crowd participation right through the match, was not as great as it had been for the opening game that was washed out due to heavy unseasonal rains, on Friday.

The National Stadium wicket, by no means sluggish, provided Sri Lankan bowlers with pace and bounce, if nothing else. The two left-handed Pakistan openers – Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq - had a relatively easy passage of play in collecting 73 runs in 14.4 overs. Fakhar, eager to put behind a disappointing World Cup, smashed 54 off 65 balls with 6 fours and a six in his account before becoming leg-spinner Pinnaduwage deSilva’s second victim. At the half stage Pakistan were 123-2 (25 overs), looking for a total well beyond 300.

A sweetly timed four through extra cover brought Babar Azam’s fifty off 55 balls in the 31st over. Although quite fluent in his stay, he escaped a close leg-before shout in the same over and was reprieved after a review. His third wicket stand worth 111 runs in 18.3 overs with Haris Sohail (40) laid the foundation of a big score. Both Haris and skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed were run out and Babar’s polished 115 (105 balls, 8 fours, 4 sixes) came to an end in the 46th over. 

Iftikhar Ahmed, in his first ODI since November 2015, propelled the Pakistan total beyond the three hundred mark. His unbeaten 32 off 20 balls featuring two sixes in the final over, off Nuwan Pradeep, took the total to 305-7, with 54 runs scored in the last five overs, amidst below par fielding and catching from Sri Lanka.

Left-arm pace bowler Usman Shinwari, overlooked for the World Cup, was on fire as he claimed three wickets, including Sri Lanka captain Lahiru Thirimanne for a duck, to leave the opposition in deep trouble. Imad Wasim came on to bowl the 9th over with Sri Lanka having lost four wickets for just 22 runs on the board and with both batsmen yet to score and immediately  started with a maiden. Soon half of the batting line-up was back in the pavilion and the tourists down and out. 

Showing good determination, Shehan Jayasuriya and Dasun Shanaka, were up for a fight and in the most trying circumstances. Their sixth wicket stand was worth 177 runs – Sri Lanka’s highest ever against all countries in ODI and also the best for the sixth wicket against Pakistan by all teams - and it ended when Jayasuriya was out, four runs shy from his maiden ODI hundred. His 96 came off 109 balls and he hit 7 fours and a six and regardless of the outcome of the match, can hold his head high. Two balls later Shanka too departed but before reaching a career-best ODI innings of 68 for which he faced 80 balls, hit 6 fours and 2 sixes. Despite their stand Sri Lanka required 104 runs off the last 10 overs.

Shinwari added two more wickets to his tally and finished with 5-51 off 10 overs and Sri Lanka were finally dismissed for 238 in 46.5 overs.


Match Details

Pakistan won the toss and chose to bat

Match - 15:00 local time (10:00 GMT)

Pakistan : Wahab Riaz, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Asif Ali, Usman Shinwari, Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Imam-Ul-Haq, Mohammad Hasnain, Abid Ali

Sri Lanka : Isuru Udana, HDRL Thirimanne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dimuth Karunaratne, AK Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha, Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Minod Bhanuka

©Cricket World 2019