Pakistan Name 15-Man World Cup Squad

Pakistan Name 15-Man World Cup Squad
Pakistan Name 15-Man World Cup Squad
©REUTERS/Anthony Phelps (NEW ZEALAND - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Pakistan have named their 15-man squad for the 2011 World Cup, leaving out experienced batsman Mohammad Yousuf and not naming a captain or vice-captain.

Also missing out is fast bowler Tanvir Ahmed, who has burst onto the scene with impressive performances against South Africa and New Zealand in the ongoing Test series.

Left-arm spinner Abdur Rehman and off-spinner Saeed Ajmal have been picked as specialist slow bowlers while Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir and Wahab Riaz will offer pace bowling options alongside all-rounder Abdul Razzaq.

Shahid Afridi will captain the side for a six-match One-Day International series in Pakistan with Misbah-ul-Haq as vice-captain with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) expected to decide on their World Cup captain following the conclusion of that series on 5th February.

Tanvir is the player who misses out having been named in a 16-man squad for the six-match series in New Zealand.

Pakistan's World Cup campaign gets underway on 23rd February when they play Kenya and the 1992 champions also play Sri Lanka, Canada, New Zealand, Zimbabwe and Australia in Group A.

Pakistan World Cup squad: Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Younus Khan, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir

© Cricket World 2011

YouTube Button