Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Pakistan Name 16-Man ODI Squad

Sohail Tanvir
Sohail Tanvir returns to Pakistan ODI squad to take on Pakistan
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan have named a 16-man squad for the five-match One-Day International series against South Africa in the United Arab Emirates.

Batsman and back-up wicket-keeper Umar Akmal is back in the squad after missing the recent series in Zimbabwe while Sarfraz Ahmed named as first-choice wicket-keeper after replacing Akmal in Zimbabwe.

Although Mohammad Hafeez was dropped from the Test squad to play South Africa, he retains his place in the ODI squad.

From the squad that toured Zimbabwe and won 2-1, batsmen Asad Shafiq and Haris Sohail have been dropped along with fast bowlers Asad Ali and Anwar Ali.

In come Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz and Sohaib Maqsood.

Umar Gul remains unavailable due to injury.

The series begins on 30th October with the opening game in Sharjah before matches on 1st, 6th, 8th and 11th November as the teams also visit Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Following the series, the teams will play two Twenty20 Internationals in Dubai on 13th and 15th November.

Pakistan One-Day International squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Sohaib Maqsood, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed

© Cricket World 2013