Pakistan Name Squad For Zimbabwe Tour

Khurram Manzoor has been handed another opportunity in the Test squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan have named their Test, One-Day International and Twenty20 International squads for their tour of Zimbabwe that begins later this month.

The limited overs squads show few changes from the party that toured the West Indies, winning the ODI series 3-1 and winning both Twenty20 Internationals.

Hammad Azam is omitted from the Twenty20 squad and wicket-keeper Mohammad Rizwan does not feature in the ODI squad as Sohaib Maqsood - an off-spinning all-rounder - is a newcomer to the Twenty20 squad.

The Test squad, however, sees opening batsman Nasir Jamshed and tall fast bowler Mohammad Irfan left out with Mohammad Hafeez, Khurram Manzoor and Imran Farhat preferred at the top of the order.

Junaid Khan and Wahab Riaz are the most experienced pace bowlers selected with Ehsan Adil and Rahat Ali providing the other options as Saeed Ajmal and Abdur Rehman take up their places as specialist spinners.

Younus Khan, who played in Pakistan's last Test, in February against South Africa, is also left out as Adnan Akmal replaces Sarfraz Ahmed as first-choice wicket-keeper.

Tanvir Ahmed and Umar Gul also featured in that series but Tanvir has been left out and Gul is unavailable due to injury, and is targeting the series against Sri Lanka in December as a potential comeback opportunity.

Pakistan arrive in Zimbabwe on 19th August ahead of two Twenty20 Internationals, five One-Day Internationals and a Test in Harare before the tour concludes with the second and final Test in Bulawayo.

Two years ago, they toured Zimbabwe and won every match, a target they will have in mind this time around as well.

Pakistan Test squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Khurram Manzoor, Imran Farhat, Asad Shafiq, Younus Khan, Azhar Ali, Faisal Iqbal, Adnan Akmal, Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Ehsan Adil, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman

Pakistan ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Haris Sohail, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali, Abdur Rehman

Pakistan T20I squad: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Zulfiqur Babar, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali, Haris Sohail

© Cricket World 2013

Fixtures & Results
23rd August: 1st T20I, Harare
PAK 161-5 beat ZIM 136-5 by 25 runs
24th August: 2nd T20I, Harare
PAK 179-1 beat ZIM 160-6 by 19 runs
27th August: 1st ODI, Harare
ZIM 246-3 beat PAK 244-7 by 7 wickets
29th August: 2nd ODI, Harare
PAK 299-4 beat ZIM 209 by 90 runs
31st August: 3rd ODI, Harare
PAK 260-6 beat ZIM 152 by 108 runs
3rd-7th September: 1st Test, Harare
PAK 249 & 419-9d beat ZIM 327 & 120 by 221 runs
10th-14th September: 2nd Test, Harare
ZIM 294 & 199 beat PAK 230 & 239 by 24 runs