< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan Pick Sohail, Ehsan For World Cup

Mohammad Irfan,Misbah-ul-Haq
Mohammad Irfan (left) is in the squad, which will be led by Misbah-ul-Haq (right)
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan have included fast bowler Sohail Khan in their 15-man squad for the Cricket World Cup 2015, despite the right-armer not playing an ODI since 2011.

His inclusion comes at the expense of more experienced players including Umar Gul and Sohail Tanvir.

With no Saeed Ajmal available, Yasir Shah has been chosen as the premier spinner, meaning Zulfiqar Babar misses out.

Mohammad Hafeez, who was recently banned from bowling in international cricket and continues remedial work on his action, is included in the squad.

From the squad that ended the recent series against New Zealand, which Pakistan lost 3-2, there is also no place for all-rounder Anwar Ali or opening batsman Nasir Jamshed.

Fast bowler Ehsan Adil, who has played just two ODIs, is also recalled and with Sohail, who has played five matches, will provide back up for Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan and Wahab Riaz.

"This is the best possible squad from the available resources, and the selectors collectively believe it has the requisite talent and skill-set to recapture the World Cup Down Under after 22 years," Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chief Selector Moin Khan said.

"Of the selected squad of 15, eight have played in the last World Cup, while the remaining seven have been picked after their recent form impressed the selectors.

"This makes it a pretty decent blend of experience and youth," he added.

Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992 - the last time it was hosted by Australia and New Zealand - and start their campaign against India on 15th February.

In Pool B, they will also play the West Indies (20th February), Zimbabwe (1st March), United Arab Emirates (4th March), South Africa (7th March) and Ireland (15th March).

Pakistan World Cup squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Ehsan Adil, Haris Sohail, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicket-keeper), Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohail Khan, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Younus Khan

© Cricket World 2015


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep