< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan remain unchanged for Australia Test series

Sohail Khan (2nd right) had an impressive series in New Zealand
Sohail Khan (2nd right) had an impressive series in New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Pakistan selectors have named an unchanged squad for the upcoming Test series against Australia which begins next month.

The squad will be led by Misbah-ul-Haq, who will return back after missing the second Test in Christchurch and will have Azhar Ali as his deputy.

Sharjeel Khan and Mohammad Rizwan have managed to retain their places in squad as the selectors continue to overlook Mohammad Hafeez, who last played for Pakistan in the longer format in August against England in Southampton.

Kamran Akmal, who is the leading run-scorer in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy also misses on the selection in the 16-man squad.

Pakistan's campaign in Australia will begin with the first Test in Brisbane on 15th December which is also a day-night encounter while the second and third and Test will be played in Melbourne and Sydney.

The One-Day International leg of the tournament will be played between 13th and 26th January.

Pakistan Test squad:

Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Sharjeel Khan, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Sohail Khan, Imran Khan

© Cricket World 2016