< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan Seal Series Despite Chanderpaul Century

Pakistan Seal Series Despite Chanderpaul Century
West Indies Hit Back To Bowl Pakistan Out For 232
©Action Images / Reuters / Andy Clark Picture Supplied by Action Images

Pakistan 232 (Misbah-ul-Haq 52, Taylor 3-38, Powell 3-50) beat
West Indies 208 (Chanderpaul 107no, Umar Gul 3-44) by 24 runs

2nd Fortune Cup One Day International, Abu Dhabi

Pakistan closed out a 24-run win over the West Indies despite an unbeaten century for Shivnarine Chanderpaul to seal the Fortune Cup as they took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

Seamers Jerome Taylor and Daren Powell shared six wickets as the West Indies bowled Pakistan out for 232 before Umar Gul's haul of three for 44 left Chanderpaul stranded on 107 as his side were bowled out for 208.

Taylor, who conceded 17 runs in five balls as Pakistan won the first game in the final over, returned three for 28 while Powell took three for 50, bowling Khurram Manzoor for nought and Younus Khan for 34 to put Pakistan on the back foot after they had won the toss and chosen to bat.

Salman Butt was caught and bowled by Taylor for seven and when captain Shoaib Malik was run out for 10 they were 87 for four and in some trouble.

Misbah-ul-Haq (52) and Kamran Akmal (45) steadied the ship with a partnership worth 38 for the fifth wicket but neither man was able to go on and make the kind of score which Pakistan would have been hoping for.

Misbah was caught by Powell off of pacer Lionel Baker, who bowled tidily to return one for 35, as did left-arm spinner Nikita Miller, who took one for 39 with the wicket of Misbah.

Shahid Afridi (28 from 24 balls), Sohail Tanvir (26 from 20) and Umar Gul (13 from 12) entertained briefly before Taylor and Powell returned to mop up the lower order after Tanvir was run out.

West Indies got off to a terrible start when openers Chris Gayle and Sewnarine Chattergoon both departed without scoring, Sohail Tanvir (2-32) doing the damage by bowling Gayle and having Chattergoon caught behind.

Ramnaresh Sarwan (45) and Chanderpaul then consolidated, adding 92 for the third wicket but once Pakistan managed to break their stand, they bowled themselves back into the match.

Shahid Afridi got the crucial breakthrough when Sarwan was trapped in front and that was followed by Younus Khan and Akmal combining to run out both Xavier Marshall (one) and Shawn Findlay (12).

Gul then bowled Carlton Baugh for three, Taylor was trapped in front by Iftikhar Anjum for a duck and while Chanderpaul was in fine form at the other end, he was running out of partners.

Nikita Miller hit a useful 12 from 14 balls before he was caught by Akmal off of Saaed Ajmal before the West Indies were left with 26 runs to win from the final two overs with two wickets in hand and Chanderpaul off strike.

Powell worked a single, as did Chanderpaul before Powell was bowled by Gul trying an expansive shot to leave last man Lionel Baker on strike.

He survived one ball before another yorker got through his defences and provided Pakistan with the victory they needed to seal the series.

Pakistan won the first game by four wickets two days ago.

Pakistan: Salman Butt, Khurram Manzoor, Younus Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik (captain), Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Iftikhar Anjum

West Indies: Chris Gayle (captain), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Xavier Marshall, Shawn Findlay, Carlton Baugh, Jerome Taylor, Daren Powell, Lionel Baker, Nikita Miller

© Cricket World 2008