< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan Seal Emphatic Series Win

Pakistan players
Pakistan completed an emphatic victory in Abu Dhabi
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan 570-6 dec. & 293-3 dec beat
Australia 261 & 246 by 356 runs
Second Test, Abu Dhabi

Zulfiqar Babar took a five-wicket haul to bowl Pakistan to a 356-run win over Australia in the second and final Test in Abu Dhabi, clinching a 2-0 series win in the process.

Left-arm spinner Babar returned five for 120 as Australia were bowled out for 246 in their second innings.

They had been set a victory target of 603 and were unable to bat through the day with six wickets in hand to salvage a draw.

Steve Smith (97) and Mitchell Marsh (47) just missed out on personal milestones after helping their side reach lunch on 238 for five.

After the break, they lost their last five wickets for just nine runs as Pakistan claimed a first Test series win over Australia for 20 years.

Resuming on 143 for four, Smith and Marsh frustrated Pakistan by adding a 107-run stand for the fifth wicket.

It was finally broken when Mohammad Hafeez had Marsh caught by Asad Shafiq shortly before lunch was taken.

And Pakistan did not hang around once the second session got underway, taking three wickets before Australia could add another run.

Smith was trapped in front by Yasir Shah, Brad Haddin was stumped by Sarfraz Ahmed off Zulfiqar for 13 and Mitchell Johnson was bowled by Yasir for nought.

Shah completed figures of three for 44 when Mitchell Starc was bowled, leaving the honour of finishing off Australia to Zulfiqar, who had Nathan Lyon caught by Azhar Ali for a golden duck.

Hafeez ended with figures of two for 38.

Pakistan won the opening Test in Dubai by 221 runs and dominated this match after both Azhar and Misbah-ul-Haq scored centuries in both innings.

Misbah's 56-ball century in the second innings matched Sir Viv Richards' record for the quickest in the history of Test cricket.

This win lifts Pakistan to third in the ICC Test rankings, behind South Africa and Australia.

© Cricket World 2014