Pakistan, Sri Lanka Win Warm-Ups

Dinesh Chandimal
The LED bails light up as Dinesh Chandimal is bowled during Sri Lanka's innings
©REUTERS / Action Images
Mohammad Hafeez hits out
Mohammad Hafeez hits out during his half-century for Pakistan against New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan and Sri Lanka won ICC World Twenty20 warm-up games against New Zealand and India respectively with both matches going down to the final over.

Sohaib Maqsood hit two late boundaries to hand Pakistan a six-wicket win with a ball to spare while Sri Lanka held off a late Indian charge to win by five wickets.

Sri Lanka produced a solid performance in the field to defend 153 for six when they dismissed India for 148.

Kushal Perera gave them his usual flying start with 21 in 15 balls, but India fought back through Ravichandran Ashwin, who took three for 22.

Mahela Jayawardene made 30 in 20 balls, Dinesh Chandimal 29 in 25 and Nuwan Kulasekara 21 not out in 14 deliveries.

India lost openers Rohit Sharma (2) and Shikhar Dhawan (4) cheaply but Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh 35 together for the third wicket with the former hitting 41 and the latter 33.

The 2007 champions then went from 54 for two to 56 for four when Raina and Ajinkya Rahane (0) fell in quick succession.

Virat Kohli hit 17 in nine balls but was bowled by Lasith Malinga (4-30), who had already seen off Sharma and would return later on to dismiss Ashwin (19) and Amit Mishra (0) to seal the win.

There were also contributions from Ravindra Jadeja (12) and Stuart Binny (14) while Kulasekara took two wickets as Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis and Rangana Herath grabbed one apiece.

There was a dramatic finish to the game between New Zealand and Pakistan where the latter swept home by seven wickets.

Batting first, Brendon McCullum smashed 59 in 45 balls and only two others - Martin Guptill (11) and Colin Munro (20) - reached double figures as the Black Caps made their way to 145 for nine.

Umar Gul showed he has back to his best with a haul of three for 16, Mohammad Talha took two for 22 and there was one apiece for Sohail Tanvir, Zulfiqar Babar, Saeed Ajmal and Bilawal Bhatti.

Kamran Akmal blasted 52 in 45 balls before retiring and Hafeez made 55 in 39 balls. Sharjeel Khan made 12 in nine deliveries and Umar Akmal just nine to leave Pakistan on 129 for four after 17.5 overs.

Shoaib Malik and Maqsood struggled initially before Maqsood sealed the win by hitting the fourth and fifth balls of the final over, bowled by Corey Anderson, for four, to clinch the win.

© Cricket World 2014