< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan Super League 2019 – PSL 2019: Match Schedule, Team Squads and Tournament Predictions

Pakistan Super League (PSL) fans at the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan

The Pakistan Super League 2019 (PSL 2019) Match Fixture Schedule, Team Squads and Tournament Predictions are all included in this - All You Need to Know summary of the this year's Tournament.

The proximity of the Pakistan Super League to the World Cup 2019 makes the tournament even more exciting. The T20 competition will last from February 14 to March 17.

The fourth edition of the tournament will have a total of 30 league matches and then the playoff phase of 4 matches. The first 26 of these matches will be played in the United Arab Emirates. The venues for these games will be Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai, Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium in Sharjah and Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. The last but the most important phase of the league comprises of three playoff matches and the final. The three playoff matches will be hosted by the Gaddafi Stadium in Pakistan's, Lahore. The PSL 2019 final will be held at the National Stadium in Karachi.

The league stage comprises of double round-robin stage where all six teams - Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators - will compete against each other twice. The top four teams from the league stage will move to the playoffs where the top two teams will meet in the Qualifier, the winner of which will move straight-a-way to the final, while the third and fourth ranked teams will clash in Eliminator 1. The loser of the Qualifier and the winner of Eliminator 1 will face each other in Eliminator 2.

Karachi Kings and Quetta Gladiators have ticked most boxes across the last three seasons and are expected to qualify for the playoffs easily. However, their squads though good are far from perfect and hence the two teams can't be touted to be contenders for the title.

Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans have not been able to live up to expectations till now; the Qalandars more than the Sultans. Despite roping in AB de Villiers, they have not got their balance right. Multan Sultans will be hit by the elbow injury of Steve Smith and hence their playoff qualification looks uncertain.

Two-time champions Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi have maximum match-winners and impact players. While Peshawar is expected to make the final, Islamabad United have a good chance of taking their championship count to three.

Here are our predictions for the tournament:

Highest run-scorer: Karachi Kings' Babar Azam is in the form of his life and has been minting runs for fun in International cricket.

Highest wicket-taker:  Peshawar Zalmi's Hasan Ali's credentials are no secret in the shortest format of the game. His control and variations make him the favorite for being the highest wicket-taker

Runners-up: Peshawar Zalmi have qualified for the playoffs in all of the last three seasons and ended as runners-up last season as well.

Champions: Led by Luke Ronchi, Islamabad United are the most successful team of the Pakistan Super League. They won the first edition of the league in 2016 and backed it up with another title last year.

Here's a look at the squads of all six PSL teams:


Peshawar Zalmi PSL 2019 Squad

Darren Sammy (C), Kamran Akmal, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Sameen Gul, Khalid Usman, Umaid Asif, Liam Dawson, Misbah-ul-Haq, Kieron Pollard, Dawid Malan, Umar Amin, Sohaib Maqsood, Wayne Madsen, Nabi Gul, Jamal Anwar, Chris Jordan, Ibtisam Sheikh, Samiullah, Waqar Salamkheil

Top run-getter– Kamran Akmal

Top wicket-taker – Hasan Ali

Quetta Gladiators PSL 2019 Squad

Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Shane Watson, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Azam Khan, Saud Shakeel, Sunil Narine, Sohail Tanvir, Dwayne Bravo, Fawad Ahmed, Jalat Khan, Mohammad Asghar, Danish Aziz, Ahsan Ali, Ghulam Mudassar, Naseem Shah, Harry Gurney

Top run-getter– Rilee Rossouw

Top wicket-taker– Sunil Narine

Karachi Kings PSL 2019 Squad

Imad Wasim (C), Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam, Ravi Bopara, Usman Khan, Mohammad Amir, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Sikandar Raza, Awais Zia, Usama Mir, Aaron Summers, Sohail Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ali Imran, Abrar Ahmed, Aamir Yamin, Jaahid Ali, Ben Dunk, Liam Livingstone

Top run-getter– Babar Azam

Top wicket-taker – Mohammad Amir 

Multan Sultans PSL 2019 Squad

Shoaib Malik (C), Shan Masood, Umar Siddiq, Mohammad Junaid, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Shahid Afridi, Joe Denly, Nicholas Pooran, Qais Ahmed, Shakeel Ansar, Laurie Evans, Numan Ali, Dan Christian, Tome Moores, Ali Shafiq, Muhammad Ilyas, Andre Russell

Top run-getter– Shoaib Malik

Top wicket-taker – Junaid Khan

Lahore Qalandars PSL 2019 Squad

Mohammad Hafeez (C), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, AB de Villiers, Yasir Shah, Sohail Akhtar, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Rahat Ali, Agha Salman, Hassan Khan, Anton Devcich, Carlos Brathwaite, Corey Anderson, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mohammad Imran, Umair Masood, Brendan Taylor, Gohar Ali, Aizaz Cheema, Haris Rauf, David Wiese, Hardus Viljoen

Top run-getter– AB de Villiers

Top wicket-taker – Shaheen Shah Afridi

Islamabad United PSL 2019 Squad

Luke Ronchi (C), Sahibzada Farhan, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Faheem Ashraf, Zafar Gohar, Waqas Maqsood, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Sami, Ian Bell, Philip Salt, Cameron Delport, Samit Patel, Muhammad Musa, Wayne Parnell, Zahir Khan, Amad Butt, Rizwan Hussain, Nasir Nawaz

Top run-getter– Asif Ali

Top wicket-taker – Shadab Khan


Full Match Fixture Schedule - All times are GMT

Feb 14 Thu Islamabad United v Lahore Qalandars Dubai 4:00 PM

Feb 15 Fri Karachi Kings v Multan Sultans Dubai 12:00 PM

Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta Gladiators Dubai 4:00 PM

Feb 16 Sat Islamabad United v Multan Sultans Dubai 12:00 PM

Lahore Qalandars v Karachi Kings Dubai 4:00 PM

Feb 17 Sun Islamabad United v Quetta Gladiators Dubai 12:00 PM

Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore Qalandars Dubai 4:00 PM

Feb 20 Wed Multan Sultans v Quetta Gladiators  Sharjah 4:00 PM

Feb 21 Thu Peshawar Zalmi v Karachi Kings Sharjah 4:00 PM

Feb 22 Fri Lahore Qalandars v Multan Sultans Sharjah 12:00 PM

Islamabad United v Peshawar Zalmi Sharjah 4:00 PM

Feb 23 Sat Quetta Gladiators v Lahore Qalandars Sharjah 12:00 PM

Islamabad United v Karachi Kings Sharjah 4:00 PM

Feb 24 Sun Multan Sultans v Peshawar Zalmi Sharjah 12:00 PM

Quetta Gladiators v Karachi Kings Sharjah 4:00 PM

Feb 26 Tue Islamabad United v Multan Sultans Dubai 4:00 PM

Feb 27 Wed Lahore Qalandars v Quetta Gladiators Dubai 12:00 PM

Karachi Kings v Islamabad United Dubai 4:00 PM

Feb 28 Thu Multan Sultans v Peshawar Zalmi Dubai 12:00 PM

Karachi Kings v Lahore Qalandars Dubai 4:00 PM

Mar 01 Fri Peshawar Zalmi v Islamabad United Dubai 12:00 PM

Multan Sultans v Quetta Gladiators Dubai 4:00 PM

Mar 04 Mon Quetta Gladiators v Peshawar Zalmi Abu Dhabi 12:00 PM

Karachi Kings v Multan Sultans Abu Dhabi 4:00 PM

Mar 05 Tue Lahore Qalandars v Peshawar Zalmi Abu Dhabi 12:00 PM

Quetta Gladiators vs Islamabad United Abu Dhabi 4:00 PM

Mar 07 Thu Karachi Kings vs Peshawar Zalmi Karachi

Mar 09 Sat Lahore Qalandars v Islamabad United Lahore

Mar 10  Sun Karachi Kings v Quetta Gladiators Karachi

Lahore Qalandars v Multan Sultans Lahore

Mar 12 Tue TBC v TBC Eliminator 1 (3v4) Lahore

Mar 13 Wed TBC v TBC Qualifier (1v2) Karachi

Mar 15 Fri TBC v TBC Eliminator 2 National Stadium, Karachi

Mar 17 Sun TBC v TBC Final National Stadium, Karachi

 ©Cricket World 2019