Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Pakistan Super League Team Preview - Karachi Kings

Imad Wasim will lead Karachi Kings in the PSL 2018
Imad Wasim will lead Karachi Kings in the PSL 2018

Karachi Kings have quiet not lived up to their expectation in both the editions of the Pakistan Super League and will head into the 2018 edition with another new leader.

Following options of Shoaib Malik, Ravi Bopara and Kumar Sangakkara, the franchise have decided to go with young all-rounder Imad Wasim as captain in the upcoming edition and will also be largely boosted by the trading of Shahid Afridi, who now heads into Karachi from Peshawar Zalmi.

With the likes of Babar Azam, Ravi Bopara and Eoin Morgan along with Colin Ingram, Mohammad Rizwan and Afridi, they do boast a strong batting line-up and will have Mickey Arthur overseeing them. With Colin Munro busy with domestic commitments and Luke Wright pulling out, Karachi Kings have replaced them with Lendl Simmons and Joe Denly respectively.

Performances in Previous Editions:

2016: Having finished fourth in the league stage, Karachi Kings suffered a nine-wicket defeat to Islamabad United in the Eliminator to have an early exit.

2017: Karachi Kings managed to end third in the league stage with four apiece of wins and defeats and made further improvements when they defeated Islamabad United by 44 runs in the Eliminator but stumbled against Peshawar Zalmi in the Qualifier 2.

Player to Watch out for:

Imad Wasim: The franchise has entrusted the responsibility on the 29-year-old and his ability to bowl in the powerplay and slog in the end overs will be perfect and along with Shahid Afridi, who himself has excelled in such a role over the years, he will be a vital cog in the Karachi set up as they look for a change of fortune.


Imad Wasim (captain), Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Ravi Bopara, Usman Khan Shinwari, Usama Mir, Khurram Manzoor, Colin Ingram, Tymal Mills, Joe Denly, David Wiese, Tabish Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Hasan Mohsin, Lendl Simmons, Eoin Morgan and Saifullah Bangash.

© Cricket World 2018