< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan Super League Team Preview - Lahore Qalandars

Chris Lynn's addition will be a boost to Lahore Qalandars
Chris Lynn's addition will be a boost to Lahore Qalandars

Lahore Qalandars will be seeking a change of fortune when they head into the 2018 edition of Pakistan Super League.

The Qalandars remain the only team in the history of the tournament to have not featured in the play-offs. They finished at bottom in both the editions and have the least win percentage among the teams with just five victories from 11 matches.

They did miss the services of Mustafizur Rahman and Yasir Shah in the 2016 season and in the 2017 season, their premier all-rounder Dwayne Bravo was sidelined with a hamstring injury. Brendon McCullum, who led them last season will take over the reins once again with Fakhar Zaman named as his deputy. But, the biggest boost will be the selection of Chris Lynn in the squad, who along with Umar Akmal and McCullum will be key to their fortunes.

Sunil Narine will once again be the bowler they will be banking on along with Sohail Khan and Mustafizur's participation will be subject to availability. Injured Angelo Mathews has been replaced by Anton Devcich and Aqib Javed has taken over the head coach role.

Performances in Previous Seasons:

2016: The franchise struggled to make an impact as they managed just two wins from eight matches as they narrowly missed the road to the knock-out on net-run-rate.

2017: Lahore Qalandars had another last finish with just three wins from eight games and eventually missed a chance to make it to the play-off.

Player to Watch out for:

Yasir Shah: Having been the number one bowler for Pakistan in the Test side, he could not quite replicate the same in the limited overs format but will be desperate to use the opportunity with Lahore Qalandars to prove a point to the selectors.


Brendon McCullum (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Chris Lynn, Umar Akmal, Denesh Ramdin, Anton Devcich, Bilal Asif, Cameron Delport, Bilawal Bhatti, Aamer Yamin, Ghulam Mudassar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mustafizur Rahman, Sunil Narine, Raza Hasan, Shaheen Afridi, Sohail Khan, Yasir Shah

© Cricket World 2018