< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan tour of New Zealand 2020-21: Full squads, Fixtures & Preview: All you need to know

Pakistan players celebrate a wicket
Pakistan players celebrate a wicket

The first of the three T20Is begins on December 18, only three days after the scheduled end of New Zealand's second Test against West Indies, which is why a few big Kiwi names have been rested for the first T20I. 

Live Scores and Stats - Pakistan tour of New Zealand 2020-21


After having to undergo an extended period of isolation in Christchurch due to multiple Covid-19 positive results, Pakistan head coach Misbah-ul-Haq revealed that he even considered pulling out of the New Zealand tour. However, the good news is that the tour will go ahead.

Pakistan have brought back Hussain Talat and Sarfaraz Ahmed in the T20I squad while Zafar Gohar and Rohail Nazir miss out. The 18-man squad has Babar Azam as the skipper.

The biggest absentee from the New Zealand squad for the series is veteran batsman Ross Taylor, who has been dropped. This is a big move as it reveals New Zealand's plans for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

After sustaining a stress fracture of his lumbar spine, Lockie Ferguson also misses out form New Zealand's extended 18-man T20I squad. Another pacer, Hamish Bennett also couldn't make the cut due to injury.

Test regulars Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson and Daryl Mitchell have been rested from the first T20I, with it scheduled just three days after the conclusion of the second Test against West Indies.

Spinner Todd Astle, seamer Blair Tickner and right-arm fast-medium bowler Jacob Duffy have also been included.


Here's a look at the squads of both teams:


Pakistan T20I squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Wahab Riaz


New Zealand squad for 1st T20I: Mitchell Santner (c), Todd Astle, Doug Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner 

New Zealand squad for 2nd and 3rd T20Is: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

 Let's have a look at the schedule of the tour:

Dec 18, Fri New Zealand vs Pakistan, 1st T20I

Eden Park, Auckland

06:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL


Dec 20, Sun New Zealand vs Pakistan, 2nd T20I

Seddon Park, Hamilton

06:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL


Dec 22, Tue New Zealand vs Pakistan, 3rd T20I

McLean Park, Napier

06:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL


Dec 26, Sat - Dec 30, Wed New Zealand vs Pakistan, 1st Test

Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

10:00 PM GMT / 11:00 AM LOCAL


Jan 03, Sun - Jan 07, ThuNew Zealand vs Pakistan, 2nd Test

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

10:00 PM GMT/ 11:00 AM LOCAL


© Cricket World 2020