< >
Cricket Betting us

Pakistan v Bangladesh, Round 2-Super 4s, Asia Cup: Rauf, Imam, Rizwan star in Pakistan win

The first game of the Super Four stage of Asia Cup 2023 took place between Pakistan and Bangladesh at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The Shakib Al Hasan-led side won the toss and opted to bat but they couldn’t utilise the batting conditions well as they were all out for 193. Pakistan, in reply, chased the target with seven wickets in hand.

Bangladesh had the worst possible start to their innings as they lost their centurion from the last game Mehidy Hasan Miraz for a duck. Mohammad Naim and Litton Das tried to up the ante but they too lost their wickets along with Towhid Hridoy. They were reeling at 47 for four when Shakib Al Hasan (53:57b, 7x4) and Mushfiqur Rahim (64:87b, 5x4) joined hands. They slammed vital half-centuries at crucial junctures and stitched a 100-run partnership for the fifth wicket. However, they both lost their wickets against the run of play and Bangladesh were in the doldrums. They were bundled out for just 193 runs as Pakistani bowlers were all over them. Haris Rauf was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of four for 19 whereas Naseem Shah also picked three wickets.

Pakistan openers Fakhar Zaman and Imam-Ul-Haq (78:84b, 5x4, 4x6) were tested with the new ball bowling under lights. In the process, the former lost his wicket and skipper Babar Azam walked in at three. The captain didn’t have a good outing as he perished soon. But after that Imam along with Mohammad Rizwan added 85 runs for the fourth wicket. The keeper-batter remained unbeaten on 63 runs off 79 balls including seven boundaries and one six and finished the game for his team. Pakistan won the game match by the margin of seven wickets and started the Super Four stage on a high. 

Match Summary
Bangladesh: 193 (38.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz-1.1 ov), 2-31 (Litton Das-4.5 ov), 3-45 (Mohammad Naim-7.3 ov), 4-47 (Towhid Hridoy-9.1 ov), 5-147 (Shakib Al Hasan-29.1 ov), 6-174 (Shamim Hossain-34.4 ov), 7-190 (Mushfiqur Rahim-37.2 ov), 8-190 (Taskin Ahmed-37.3 ov), 9-192 (Afif Hossain-38.1 ov), 10-193 (Shoriful Islam-38.4 ov)

Pakistan: 194-3 (39.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Fakhar Zaman-9.1 ov), 2-74 (Babar Azam-15.3 ov), 3-159 (Imam-ul-Haq-32.5 ov)


Match Stats

Playing XI
Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Litton Das, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to bat
Venue: Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Start time: 0930 hrs GMT
Match officials: Ahmed Shah Pakteen, Langton Rusere (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Asif Yaqoob (Reserve Umpire); David Boon  (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023