Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Pakistan v Bangladesh T20Is: Preview, Match Schedule, Team Squads and Series Predictions

Babar Azam
Babar Azam

All you need to know about the Bangladesh tour of Pakistan, consisting of three legs. The first of which - a three-match T20I series - will begin in Lahore on January 24.

Bangladesh, especially in the shorter format of the game, have improved by leaps and bounds in the recent times and Pakistan are well aware of that.

In the first seven T20Is played between the two teams, it was only one way traffic as Pakistan won all of them and not by a few runs or a couple of wickets but comprehensive wins. However, from the beginning of 2015, Bangladesh have given Pakistan a tough fight, beating them by 7 wickets in Dhaka in 2015 and by 5 wickets again in the 2015-2016 Asia Cup.

In the last T20I between the two teams, during the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup, Pakistan won comprehensively by 55 runs. This leaves us with a total of 10 games with eight victories to Pakistan and two to Bangladesh. In the last 3 games though, Pakistan have won one and Bangladesh have won two.

Bangladesh's improvement in white-ball cricket is one of the reasons why the selection committee led by bye Misbah-ul-Haq had to shake things up and drop as many as seven players who were part of the T20I tour of Australia.

The team had lost their last T20I home series against Sri Lanka 3-0 and they very well know that taking the Tigers lightly will only lead to a similar result. Bangladesh are coming off a T20I series against India where they suffered a 1-2 defeat but exceeded expectations and gave the hosts a tough fight.

On the other hand, Pakistan have lost all of their last five completed T20Is, with a 0-3 defeat against Sri Lanka and a 0-2 defeat against Australia. Had one match not been abandoned, the result in all likelihood would have been 3-0 as well.

To put an end to the losing streak, Pakistan have called-up uncapped Ahsan Ali, Amad Butt and Haris Rauf for the three T20Is in Lahore. Senior batsmen Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik have also been included. The ones to miss put are Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Amir, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Irfan and Wahab Riaz.

20-year-old pacer Hasan Mahmud and experienced quick Rubel Hossain have found a place in the Bangladesh side. Tamim Iqbal has also returned. The team led by Mahmudullah will be without Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider, Taijul Islam and Mosaddek Hossain.

All the three T20Is will be played in Lahore on 24, 25 and 27 January. Bangladesh will later return for a one-off ODI and two Tests.


Series Predictions

 Winner -  Pakistan (2-1)

Top Run Scorer -  Babar Azam (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)

Top Wicket Taker -  Shaheen Shah Afridi (Pakistan), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Most Sixes - Iftikhar Ahmed (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)


Here are the squads of both teams:

Pakistan T20I Squad: Babar Azam (c), Ahsan Ali, Amad Butt, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Musa Khan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Usman Qadir

Bangladesh T20I Squad: Mahmudullah (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Moammad Naim, Najmul Hossain, Litton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud



Here's the complete schedule of the series:


Bangladesh tour of Pakistan 2020 - 2 Tests , 1 ODI , 3 T20s Jan 24 - Apr 09

Jan 24 Pakistan v Bangladesh, 1st T20I Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore 1:30 PM

Jan 25 Pakistan v Bangladesh, 2nd T20I Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore 1:30 PM

Jan 27 Pakistan v Bangladesh, 3rd T20I Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore 1:30 PM

Feb 07 – 11 Pakistan v Bangladesh, 1st Test Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi 4:30 AM

Apr 03 Pakistan v Bangladesh, Only ODI National Stadium, Karachi 5:30 AM

Apr 05 - 09 Pakistan v Bangladesh, 2nd Test National Stadium, Karachi 5:30 AM

©Cricket World 2020