< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan v Zimbabwe 1st T20I – Pakistan won by 6 wickets

Pakistan comfortably won the 1st T20I by 6 wickets, at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi, against Zimbabwe. Babar Azam (82) was outstanding for Pakistan in the run chase and Wesley Madhavere (75) was Zimbabwe’s top performer with the willow.


Match Summary

Pakistan 157 - 4

Zimbabwe 156 - 6

Result - Pakistan won by 6 wickets



Match Report by Salim Parvez - Supreme Babar stars in Pakistan win

Pakistan, led by their skipper Babar Azam, with a sublime 82 off 55 balls to his name, cruised to a six-wicket victory, in the opening T20 of the three-match series against Zimbabwe, at Pindi Cricket Stadium. In present form, he is one of the best batsmen in the world, featuring in the top 10 of the ICC ranking, in all three formats.

The general belief was that Zimbabwe were at least 20-25 runs short when their innings ended on 156-6 in their 20 overs, having chosen to bat first. The 20-year old, Wesley Madhevere, playing in his third T20 I, was most impressive in holding the innings together with an unbeaten 70 off 48 balls and hit nine fours and a six. None of the four Pakistan pacemen could be said to have had a bad game. It was a special day for Usman Qadir, son of the great wrist spinner Abdul Qadir, who was handed his T20I cap and took the key wicket of Sean Williams. Having scored 25 off 24 balls, the batsman could have done serious damage in the final stages of the innings.

Since 2019 calendar year, Fakhar Zaman, always seems short of confidence and today after an uncertain start he was out for 19, when he could have done with a longer stay at the crease. An 80-run 3rd wicket stand between Babar and Mohammad Hafeez (35) in 9.1 overs, ensured Pakistan were ahead of their target and it turned out to be a straight forward victory. It will take a huge effort from Zimbabwe to come back tomorrow in the second match after letting the opposition to get away with it by not performing at well enough as a fielding unit to defend a moderate total.





Pakistan - Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam(c), Haider Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Khushdil Shah, Faheem Ashraf, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

Zimbabwe - Chamu Chibhabha(c), Ryan Burl, Brendan Taylor(wk), Sean Williams, Wesley Madhevere, Sikandar Raza, Tendai Chisoro, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava


Match Details


Start Time: 10:30

Toss: Zimbabwe won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Officials: Asif Yaqoob, Aleem Dar, Rashid Riaz, Shozab Raza, Mohammad Javed

©Cricket World 2020