< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan vs Australia, 1st ODI: Australia beat Pakistan by 88 runs

Australia beat Pakistan by the convincing margin of 88 runs, in the 1st ODI of the three-match series, at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi today.

Match Summary

Pakistan vs Australia, 1st ODI, Australia tour of Pakistan

Pakistan 225/10 (45.2 ov)

Australia 313/7 (50 ov)

Result - Australia won by 88 runs

Player of the Match - Travis Head


Pakistan won the toss and elected to field, Travis Head (101) smashing an important century to get Australia off the mark.

Ben McDermott (55) added a half century to put Australia in control, Cameron Green (40) and the rest of the batsmen adding enough to see Australia to 313/7.

Things didn't start well for Pakistan in reponse, Fakhar Zaman removed by Sean Abbott early on to put the pressure on. Imam ul Haq (52*) and Babar Azam (57) combined for a crucial partnership to see Pakistan back into this one. Mitchell Swepson (1/31) stepped up, and took the ever important wicket of Babar Azam LBW.

Pakistan were never really in the run chase, after the depature of Imam ul Haq (103), who scored a cultured century,against some top bowling by Aussie spinners Mitchell Swepson 2-53 and Adam Zampa 4-38.

Match Stats

Australia Fall of wickets: 1-110 (Aaron Finch - 14.4 ov), 2-171 (Travis Head - 24.6 ov), 3-209 (Ben McDermott - 32.6 ov), 4-224 (Marnus Labuschagne - 38.1 ov), 5-230 (Alex Carey - 39.2 ov), 6-277 (Marcus Stoinis - 46.4 ov), 7-296 (Sean Abbott - 48.5 ov)

Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Fakhar Zaman - 4.3 ov), 2-120 (Babar Azam - 24.1 ov), 3-132 (Saud Shakeel - 26.4 ov), 4-151 (Mohammad Rizwan - 30.6 ov), 5-166 (Iftikhar Ahmed - 33.3 ov), 6-204 (Imam ul Haq - 38.6 ov), 7-213 (Hasan Ali - 41.2 ov), 8-213 (Mohammad Wasim - 41.3 ov), 9-217 (Khushdil Shah - 43.2 ov), 10-225 (Haris Rauf - 45.2 ov)

Playing XI

Pakistan - Babar Azam (C), Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Zahid Mahmood

Australia - Aaron Finch (C), Travis Head, Ben McDermott, Marnus Labuschagne, Marcus Stoinis, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (WK), Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Swepson

Match Details

Date - 29th March, 11:00 AM

Venue - Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Toss - Pakistan won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Aleem Dar, Asif Yaqoob

© Cricket World 2022