< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan vs Australia, Only T20I: Australia beat Pakistan by 3 wickets

In the only T20I of the series, Australia beat Pakistan by 3 wickets, at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, today.


Match Summary

Pakistan vs Australia, Only T20I, Australia tour of Pakistan

Pakistan 162/8 (20 ov)

Australia 163/7 (19.1 ov)

Result - Australia won by 3 wickets


Match Report - Australia overpower Pakistan


Australia signed off their historic tour of Pakistan with a three -wicket win, with five balls to spare, in a one-off T20 between the two sides at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

Put into bat by Aaron Finch, Pakistan openers Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam were greeted by a sell-out crowd at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore in a one-off T20I between the two sides.  The 8.30pm local time start was perfect in lines with the early summer heat and the restraints of the fasting month of Ramadhan. Pakistan line-up didn’t feature all-rounder Shadab Khan, vice-captain in T20I.

Babar in great form with the bat having smashed two ODI hundreds in his last two innings, hit three consecutive fours off  Nathan Ellis. The pair brought up 50 in just 5.5 overs and at this rate there was every chance for Pakistan to reach 200. At the end of six-over powerplay, the score 56-0 was their best against Australia. Rizwan took a blow on his knee and was out to the first ball after he had received treatment, having hit 23 off 19 balls. On the very next ball Fakhar Zaman hit a full-toss from Cameron Green, straight to mid-on and these two wickets brought Australia back in the game. Babar only needed 33 balls for his fifty and had hit 6 fours and a six with his side now 80-2 at the half way of their innings.

Pakistan after a flying start could only manage 42 in 7 overs and a total of 200 started to look unlikely. In this phase even Babar found the boundaries hard to come by. After hitting a six he was dismissed next ball, caught on the extra cover boundary off Adam Zampa in the 16th over. The captain’s knock of 66 (46 balls) featured six fours and two sixes and his team now would do really well to get to 160. A clever change of pace of Australian bowlers, backed by faultless catching had put them in the driving seat. Ellis grabbed four wickets and his career-best T20I figures read 4-0-28-4 Pakistan’s final total of 162-8 was only possible with Usman Qadir’s blows helping to fetch 18 priceless runs in the last over.

Travis Head and Finch decided to take on the bowling from the word go and it gave their side an excellent start in the powerplay where 50 was on the board in just 4.1 overs and at the end of six overs, Australia had raced to 63-1. By the half mark the tourists with skipper Finch on unbeaten 36 off 28 balls were 95-2 and cruising to an easy win. With the exception of Qadir, who after taking a high judged catch picked up two wickets, Pakistan bowling lacked sting. Two wickets and nine dot balls from Mohammad Wasim Jr. didn’t change anything for Finch, who leading from the front got to his fifty off 38 balls in the 16th over.

Finch is a leading T20I opening batsman and his placing of the ball and quick running continued to upset the opponents. Australia only required 20 runs in the last 4 overs and Finch was out on the edge of the square leg fence with 55 off 45 balls with six fours. Shaheen Afridi’s two wickets in the 19th over got the crowd on their feet but Ben McDermott (22 not out off 19 balls) got Australia home with a flick to the square leg boundary.


Match Stats

Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Mohammad Rizwan - 7.4 ov), 2-67 (Fakhar Zaman - 7.5 ov), 3-93 (Iftikhar Ahmed - 11.5 ov), 4-118 (Babar Azam - 15.2 ov), 5-127 (Asif Ali - 16.4 ov), 6-142 (Hasan Ali - 17.5 ov), 7-142 (Khushdil Shah - 18.1 ov), 8-142 (Shaheen Afridi - 18.2 ov)

Australia Fall of wickets:1-40 (Travis Head - 3.3 ov), 2-84 (Josh Inglis - 8.3 ov), 3-95 (Marnus Labuschagne - 10.1 ov), 4-119 (Marcus Stoinis - 11.3 ov), 5-129 (Cameron Green - 13.4 ov), 6-158 (Aaron Finch - 18.1 ov), 7-159 (Sean Abbott - 18.4 ov)

Playing XIs

Pakistan - Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Fakhar Zaman, Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Wasim, Usman Qadir, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf

Australia - Josh Inglis (WK), Travis Head, Aaron Finch (C), Marnus Labuschagne, Ben McDermott, Marcus Stoinis, Cameron Green, Adam Zampa, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis

Match Details

Date - 2022-04-05 16:30 PM

Venue - Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Toss - Australia won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Ahsan Raza, Aleem Dar

© Cricket World 2022