< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 1st ODI: Pakistan complete comfortable 6 wicket win over New Zealand

Pakistan’s fast-bowler Naseem Shah 5-57, Fakhar Zaman 56, Babar Azam 66 and Mohammad Rizwan 77* ensured a comfortable 6 wicket win over New Zealand in the 1st ODI at the National Stadium, Karachi today

Match Summary

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 1st ODI, New Zealand tour of Pakistan

Pakistan 258/4 (48.1 ov)

New Zealand 255/9 (50 ov)

Result - Pakistan won by 6 wickets


Match Report

Pakistan strolled to a six-wicket victory over New Zealand in the first one-day international on Monday after fast bowler Naseem Shah took five wickets in Karachi.

The 19-year-old grabbed 5-57 for his second five-wicket haul in just four ODI appearances as New Zealand, sent in to bat, managed 255-9 in their 50 overs at the National Stadium.

Mohammad Rizwan (77 not out), skipper Babar Azam (66) and Fakhar Zaman (56) then helped Pakistan cruise to victory with 11 balls to spare.

The home team took a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The remaining matches are on Wednesday and Friday, also in Karachi. 

Azam and Zaman put on 78 runs for the second wicket after Imam-ul-Haq (11) fell in the sixth over.

Zaman hit seven boundaries in his 74-ball knock before he was bowled by Michael Bracewell, while Azam was stumped off Glenn Phillips after facing 82 deliveries.

Rizwan, who added 60 with Azam, put on another 64 with Haris Sohail who made a quick-fire 32.

Off-spinner Bracewell was the best New Zealand bowler with 2-44.

Earlier, it was Naseem's fiery bowling that kept New Zealand in check.

The teenager dismissed opener Devon Conway in the first over of the match for nought to kickstart Pakistan.

Naseem returned for a second spell to account for Phillips (37), Bracewell (43) and Henry Shipley (nought).

Naseem, whose first ODI five-wicket haul was against the Netherlands in August, rounded off his night by dismissing Mitchell Santner for 21 in the final over.

Tom Latham (42) and Daryl Mitchell (36) stabilised the innings during a fourth-wicket stand of 56, while Phillips and Bracewell added 66 off 59 balls for the sixth -- before Naseem dismissed both in successive overs.

Skipper Kane Williamson scored 26 before he was beautifully bowled by debutant leg-spinner Usama Mir, who finished with 2-42.

Phillips hit a six and a four in his 53-ball knock, while Bracewell cracked four boundaries and a six.

Opener Finn Allen smashed six boundaries in his 27-ball 29.

Match Stats

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Devon Conway - 0.6 ov), 2-37 (Finn Allen - 7.3 ov), 3-69 (Kane Williamson - 14.2 ov), 4-125 (Daryl Mitchell - 26.5 ov), 5-147 (Tom Latham - 31.3 ov), 6-213 (Glenn Phillips - 43.6 ov), 7-220 (Michael Bracewell - 45.4 ov), 8-220 (Henry Shipley - 45.5 ov), 9-251 (Mitchell Santner - 49.3 ov)

Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Imam ul Haq - 5.4 ov), 2-108 (Fakhar Zaman - 22.5 ov), 3-168 (Babar Azam - 36.3 ov), 4-232 (Haris Sohail - 44.6 ov)

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Haris Sohail, Agha Salman, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (C), Tom Latham (WK), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson.


Match Details:

Date: Monday, January 9, 2023 09:30

Venue: National Stadium, Karachi

Toss: Pakistan won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Aleem Dar(Pakistan) Asif Yaqoob(Pakistan) Ahsan Raza(Pakistan TV)

Match Referee: David Boon(Australia)

© Cricket World 2023