< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 1st Test Day 3: New Zealand's Latham and Williamson hit centuries to give Kiwis slender lead

New Zealand's Kane Williamson takes a tumble
New Zealand's Kane Williamson takes a tumble

Kane Williamson and Tom Latham both completed centuries, for New Zealand, as the tourists edged passed Pakistan’s 1st Innings total of 438 today, at the National Stadium, Karachi, reaching 440/6 at the close.

Match Summary

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 1st Test, New Zealand tour of Pakistan

Pakistan 438/10 (130.5 ov)

New Zealand *440/6 (136 ov)

Day Break : Day 3 New Zealand lead by 2 runs


Early Highlights

Earlier, resuming on 165 without loss, New Zealand were lifted by Tom Latham's 13th hundred -- the most by a New Zealand opener.

Latham swept Ahmed for a single to reach three figures, eclipsing John Wright's 12 centuries as an opener for New Zealand.

He was finally dismissed for 113 after miscuing a reverse sweep and was caught in the slip.

Latham hit ten boundaries in his 288-minute knock.

Latham and Devon Conway put on 183 for the first wicket, beating the New Zealand record against Pakistan of 181 set by openers Mark Richardson and Matthew Bell at Hamilton in 2001.

Conway was trapped leg before by Nauman for 92 after striking 14 boundaries in his fifth Test half-century.

The Pakistan camp has been hit by viral flu with neither skipper Babar Azam nor Agha Salman taking the field in Wednesday's first session.

Match Stats

Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Abdullah Shafique - 3.3 ov), 2-19 (Shan Masood - 6.1 ov), 3-48 (Imam ul Haq - 14.6 ov), 4-110 (Saud Shakeel - 28.6 ov), 5-306 (Sarfaraz Ahmed - 85.3 ov), 6-318 (Babar Azam - 90.4 ov), 7-372 (Nauman Ali - 116.5 ov), 8-375 (Mohammad Wasim - 117.6 ov), 9-414 (Mir Hamza - 125.6 ov), 10-438 (Agha Salman - 130.5 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-183 (Devon Conway - 52.6 ov), 2-231 (Tom Latham - 69.5 ov), 3-272 (Henry Nicholls - 80.2 ov), 4-337 (Daryl Mitchell - 94.4 ov), 5-427 (Tom Blundell - 126.6 ov), 6-436 (Michael Bracewell - 131.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Imam ul Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam (C), Saud Shakeel, Sarfaraz Ahmed (WK), Agha Salman, Nauman Ali, Mohammad Wasim, Mir Hamza, Abrar Ahmed

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell (WK), Michael Bracewell, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (C), Neil Wagner, Ajaz Patel

Match Details:

Date: Monday, December 26, 2022 05:00

Venue: National Stadium, Karachi

Toss: Pakistan won the toss & elected to bat

Officials: Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) Alex Wharf (England) Ahsan Raza (Pakistan TV)

Match Referee: Muhammad Javed (Pakistan)

© Cricket World 2022