< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 2nd ODI: Conway century propels New Zealand to 79 run win

A Devon Conway century proved the difference as Pakistan couldn't make it over the line, falling by 79 runs to New Zealand today at the National Stadium, Karachi.

Match Summary

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 2nd ODI, New Zealand tour of Pakistan

Pakistan 182/10 (43 ov)

New Zealand 261/10 (49.5 ov)

Result - New Zealand won by 79 runs.


New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat, unfortunately it was a nightmare start as Finn Allen was gone within the first over at the hands of Naseem Shah (3/58) as he continued his unbelievable form.

Devon Conway (101) had other ideas though, as he hammered a century to give New Zealand some hope of a defendable total.

Kane Williamson (85) joined him, putting on a display with his own huge half century before Pakistan once again got into this one via the ball.

Mohammad Nawaz (4/38) took some the crucial wicket to stop Williamson, before skittling the rest of the batting line-up.

New Zealand left the field on a mammoth 261/10 as they're bowled all out, unfortunately for Pakistan the damage had been done.

Babar Azam (79) lead from the front, top scoring for Pakistan, however the New Zealand bowlers starred each getting a wicket to their name.

New Zealand walked to a 79 run win.

Match Stats

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Finn Allen - 0.5 ov), 2-183 (Devon Conway - 29.6 ov), 3-196 (Daryl Mitchell - 32.3 ov), 4-198 (Tom Latham - 32.6 ov), 5-201 (Kane Williamson - 34.5 ov), 6-206 (Glenn Phillips - 36.3 ov), 7-220 (Michael Bracewell - 40.3 ov), 8-238 (Ish Sodhi - 46.3 ov), 9-240 (Tim Southee - 47.2 ov), 10-261 (Mitchell Santner - 49.5 ov)


Playing XI

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Haris Sohail, Agha Salman, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (C), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (WK), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson.

Match Details

Date: 2023-01-11 09:30:00

Venue: National Stadium, Karachi

Toss: New Zealand won the toss & elected to bat

Officials: Umpires: Aleem Dar(Pakistan), Rashid Riaz(Pakistan), Asif Yaqoob(Pakistan TV)

Match Referee: David Boon(Pakistan)

© Cricket World 2023