< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI: Zaman Century in vain as New Zealand win

Devon Conway scores a half century
Devon Conway scores a half century

A century from Fakhar Zaman wasn't enough as New Zealand rallied around Glenn Phillips (63*), as they beat Pakistan by two wickets today at the National Stadium, Karachi.

Match Summary

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI, New Zealand tour of Pakistan

Pakistan 280/9 (50 ov)

New Zealand 281/8 (48.1 ov)

Result - New Zealand won by 2 wickets


Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat, Fakhar Zaman (101) well up for the challenge smashing a century to put Pakistan in a good spot after the early wicket of Shan Masood.

Mohammad Rizwan (77) joined the fray, along with Agha Salman (45), who both added runs to put Pakistan well and truly in the driving seat.

Tim Southee (3/56) took over from that point, removing some crucial wickets as Pakistan headed in at a mammoth 280/9.

In response, New Zealand were well up to the challenge, Devon Conway (52) and Kane Williamson (53) smashing half centuries to get them off the mark.

Some bowling from Agha Salman (2/43) steadied the ship for Pakistan, before Glenn Phillips (63*) added his own half century to put things back in New Zealands favour.

New Zealand managed to cross the line to a 2 wicket win over Pakistan.

Match Stats

Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Shan Masood - 1.6 ov), 2-21 (Babar Azam - 6.3 ov), 3-175 (Mohammad Rizwan - 33.2 ov), 4-191 (Fakhar Zaman - 36.2 ov), 5-225 (Haris Sohail - 42.4 ov), 6-247 (Mohammad Nawaz - 46.4 ov), 7-253 (Usama Mir - 46.6 ov), 8-270 (Agha Salman - 48.4 ov), 9-276 (Mohammad Wasim - 49.4 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-43 (Finn Allen - 8.5 ov), 2-108 (Devon Conway - 20.5 ov), 3-160 (Daryl Mitchell - 30.6 ov), 4-169 (Kane Williamson - 33.3 ov), 5-181 (Michael Bracewell - 35.3 ov), 6-205 (Tom Latham - 38.1 ov), 7-269 (Mitchell Santner - 45.3 ov), 8-279 (Ish Sodhi - 47.5 ov)

Playing XI

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Haris Sohail, Agha Salman, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim, Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (C), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (WK), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson.

Match Details

Date: 2023-01-13 09:30:00

Venue: National Stadium, Karachi

Toss: Pakistan won the toss & elected to bat

Officials: Umpires: Ahsan Raza (Pakistan), Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Rashid Riaz (Pakistan TV)

Match Referee: David Boon (Australia)

© Cricket World 2023