< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pat Cummins speaks about Australia Squad's poignant visit to Gallipoli

The Australian Men’s ODI World Cup Squad has arrived in London after spending four days in Gallipoli, Turkey.

The trip was a powerful experience for the team as they gained a greater understanding of the ANZAC spirit and sacrifice which took place during the eight month campaign.
The squad spent time walking ANZAC Cove, the battlefields and cemeteries located across the Gallipoli peninsula, including Lone Pine where they marked their respects by laying a wreath and reciting the “Ode of Remembrance.”

There is a re-enactment of the cricket match which took place at Shell Green on December 17, 1915. The match was part of the diversionary tactics used during the evacuation of Gallipoli. 

Australian Men’s World Cup Squad:

  • Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)
  • Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
  • David Warner (New South Wales)
  • Steve Smith (New South Wales)
  • Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)
  • Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
  • Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)
  • Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)
  • Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)
  • Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
  • Kane Richardson (South Australia)
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)
  • Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)
  • Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
  • Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Australia’s World Cup Fixture:
Match 1 – June 1
Afghanistan v Australia
Bristol Country Ground, Bristol
1:30pm (Local Time)

Match 2 – June 6
Australia v West Indies
Trent Bridge, Nottingham
10:30am (Local Time)

Match 3 – June 9
India v Australia
The Oval, London
10:30am (Local Time)

Match 4 – June 12
Australia v Pakistan
Country Ground Taunton, Taunton
10:30am (Local Time)

Match 5 – June 15
Sri Lanka v Australia
The Oval, London
10:30am (Local Time)

Match 6 - June 20
Australia v Bangladesh
Trent Bridge, Nottingham
10:30am (Local Time)

Match 7 – June 25
England v Australia
Lord’s, London
10:30am (Local Time)

Match 8 – June 29
New Zealand v Australia
Lord’s, London
1:30pm (Local Time)

Match 9 – July 6
Australia v South Africa
Old Trafford, Manchester
1:30pm (Local Time)

Semi Finals – July 9 and 11

World Cup Final – July 14