Pembury Cricket Club

Pembury Cricket Club is based in the large village of Pembury in Kent, just to the North East of Tunbridge Wells.

Address: Chalket Lane, Pembury, Tunbridge Wells, Kent, TN2 4AA

Website: Click Here

The club was formed in the early part of the last century when a notable family of cricketers, the Seymours, played for the club.

One of them, James, went on to play for Kent from 1902 to 1926. (Kent being one of the leading counties at the time.)

Pembury CC LogoIn 1920 Jim, as he was better known, was granted a benefit by the county, this amounted to £1492.00, a considerable amount in those days. However, the Inland Revenue ruled that the money was taxable!

Jim challenged the Inland Revenue in the courts and eventually the case landed in the House of Lords. There, with the help of Lord Harris, chairman of Kent County Cricket Club, the Lords decided in favour of Jim Seymour. Since then county cricketers have not been taxed on their benefits. A debt owed by today's professionals to an old Pembury player!

Pembury have played at the beautiful Chalket Lane ground for their entire history, and 1992 saw the demolition of the pavilion built in 1913 and the building of the present one. Pembury now has one of the best pavilions in the district, and over the winter of 2010/11 extended and refurbished both home and away changing rooms.

On the field of play Pembury have historically had their ups and downs. Pembury won the Kent and Sussex Courier knock out trophy in 1974 and 1981 and were losing finalists in 1995, and as founder members of the Mid-Kent league won the 1st division title in 1985 and the 2nd XI won the Division Two title twice.

Pembury Cricket Club is hugely focused on its prime objective, that being “To offer and promote coaching and competitive cricket in the local community”

The club went on to join the Kent Cricket Village League (KVCL) and the 1st XI were winners in 2002 and runners up in 2003.

In 2004, the club moved to the Kent Regional Cricket League (in effect the Kent League Ladder) of which it fields two sides, with the prime intention of allowing promotion and relegation to dictate their future. The 1st XI were promoted winners in 2004, runners up in 2006 but relegated in 2009 under the restructuring of the league. The 2nd XI promoted runners up 2008, relegated 2009 and promoted winners 2010.

The 1st XI currently play their cricket in the Championship West Division and the 2nd XI 2A West.

There is now a thriving junior section for all ages with teams at u-11, u-13 and u-15 level,  under supervision by ECB qualified coaches and achieved ECB Clubmark status in 2007.

Watch: A 'Very Light-Hearted' Six-A-Side Competition: