< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Perth Scorchers aim to return back to winning ways

Tymal Mills (left) is set to make his BBL debut
Tymal Mills (left) is set to make his BBL debut

23rd Match - Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers
11th January, Brisbane 18:40 local, 08:40 GMT

After receiving a hammering in their previous encounter against Brisbane Heat, Perth Scorchers will be aiming to return back to the top two spots when the two teams meet each other in the 23rd game of Big Bash League at Brisbane Cricket Ground.

A combination of injury and national duty has weakened both the teams considerably which will put their bench strength to test.

Scorchers have their captain Adam Voges ruled out with a hamstring injury while James Muirhead will miss the game with a thumb injury. Mitchell Marsh, their top run-scorer with 210 runs from five matches has joined the Australian squad for the ODI series against Pakistan. A lot will depend on the top-order of the Scorchers which features Shaun Marsh, Michael Klinger and Ian Bell.

Their bowling looks formidable but was put to test in their previous game against Brisbane Heat. David Willey has joined the England squad for ODI series against India which means Mitchell Johnson, Andrew Tye and Jhye Richardson have to step up, if they are to overhaul a tough challenge against the top-ranked team.

Brisbane Heat, will miss their prolific run-scorer Chris Lynn, who won the matches singlehandedly in this season as he is set to make his debut for Australia in the series against Pakistan. They have replaced Lynn with Sam Heazlett.

Brendon McCullum at the top has been fantastic giving them blistering starts and setting the game but with no Lynn, it will be interesting to see how the likes of Joe Burns and Alex Ross perform under pressure.

Face to Face:

The last time these two teams met was during the 17th game of the tournament when Lynn and McCullum smashed unbeaten 98 and 50 respectively to help Brisbane Heat chase down 174 with nine wickets in hand, Marsh scored impressive 70 for Perth Scorchers but Wednesday's game will see both the top-scorers for the teams miss out.

Squads from:

Brisbane Heat: Brendon McCullum (captain), Xavier Bartlett, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Tymal Mills, Jimmy Peirson, Nathan Reardon, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Jack Wildermuth.

Perth Scorchers: Michael Klinger (captain), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Hilton Cartwright, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Cameron Valente, Sam Whiteman

© Cricket World 2017