< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Perth Scorchers | BBL Squad Announcement and Jason Roy’s press conference

The Perth Scorchers have named an unchanged 17-player squad for their KFC Big Bash League match against the Melbourne Renegades tomorrow, Sunday 3 January at Optus Stadium.

The New Year will start in style for Scorchers fans, with the team set to light up Optus Stadium for the first time in BBL|10.

The Scorchers have won four of their last five BBL matches to begin a calendar year and enjoy a dominant 10-3 record against the Melbourne Renegades.

With no changes to the squad that demolished the Adelaide Strikers on New Year’s Eve, the Scorchers will be eyeing off all four points again tomorrow when they host the Renegades.

Englishman Jason Roy sizzled at the top of the order last outing, firing 49 from just the 32 deliveries.

Jhye Richardson’s impressive return from a shoulder reconstruction continues to go from strength to strength, the speedster took 3-19 against the Strikers and now sits inside the competition’s top ten wicket-takers.

The quick has picked up three scalps in each of his past two matches and is one shy of becoming only the third man to record 50 BBL wickets for the Scorchers.

Perth’s first home-town match of the season will showcase WA Cricket’s commitment to the rich Aboriginal cricket culture and celebrate Indigenous culture through the sport at all levels.

Ashton Turner will officially captain the side for the remainder of the BBL|10 season.

Ashton Agar has been ruled out of the regular season of the BBL due to an ongoing calf injury.

WACA Sports Science Sports Medicine Manager Nick Jones said;

“Ash has been experiencing ongoing soreness during rehabilitation from the right calf aponeurosis injury that he sustained playing for Australia in the 3rd ODI vs India.

This injury will require a more extended period of rehabilitation and we hope Ash will be ready to return to play in approximately one month’s time.”




Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Renegades
Sunday 3 January, 1:05pm WST
Optus Stadium, Perth
LIVE: Foxtel, Kayosports, SEN Radio, cricket.com.au



  • Fawad Ahmed
  • Cameron Bancroft
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Aaron Hardie
  • Josh Inglis
  • Matt Kelly
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Mitch Marsh
  • Colin Munro
  • Joel Paris
  • Kurtis Patterson
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Corey Rocchiccioli
  • Jason Roy
  • Ashton Turner
  • Andrew Tye
  • Sam Whiteman