< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Perth Scorchers convincingly beat Hobart Hurricanes by77 runs in BBL

Fawad Ahmed 2-15

Perth Scorchers convincingly beat Hobart Hurricanes by77 runs in their BBL encounter at the Blundstone Arena, Hobart today.


Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes 98 (17.1 Ovs) – (George Bailey 36, Caleb Jewell 28; Jhye Richardson 4-19, Fawad Ahmed 2-15, Liam Livingstone 2-4)

Perth Scorchers 175-7 (20 Ovs) – ( Josh Inglis 73, Mitch Marsh 40; Tom Rogers 2-30)

Result – Perth Scorchers won by 77 runs


Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and decided to bowl against Perth Scorchers, in this lower/middle of the table BBL clash, in which both sides are looking to take the points.

Perth Scorchers scored a competitive 175-7 in their 20 Overs with Josh Inglis 73 and Mitch Marsh 40 the top run getters - Tom Rogers 2-30 was the pick of the bowlers for the Hurricanes with Clive Rose, Nathan Ellis, Qais Ahmad and Scott Boland all taking one wicket apiece as well.

In reply, Hobart Hurricanes were bundled out for98 in 17.1 overs - George Bailey 36 and Caleb Jewell 28 top scored with Jhye Richardson 4-19, Fawad Ahmed 2-15 and Liam Livingstone 2-4 doing the damage with the ball.

From the Scorchers

The Perth Scorchers have moved into third place on the 2019-20 KFC Big Bash League ladder after defeating the Hobart Hurricanes by 77 runs at Blundstone Arena tonight.

Superb knocks from opener Josh Inglis and captain Mitch Marsh were matched by an all-round effort from the Scorchers’ bowlers as they restricted the Hurricanes to just 98 runs to notch up their third win on the bounce.

The Scorchers were sent in to bat first, but after the early wickets of Liam Livingstone (3) and Sam Whiteman (8) the visitors were stuck on 2-16 off three overs.

What followed, however, was an emphatic 109-run partnership between Inglis (73) and Marsh (40) who scored all over the park in a composed batting display under immense pressure.

After Marsh and Inglis were dismissed Tim David (12), Cameron Bancroft (14) and Cameron Green (13*) all chipped in at the backend to lead the visitors to a defendable total of 175.

The Hurricanes came out to bat with the game well and truly in the balance, but Jhye Richardson stepped forward to put the Scorchers in the driving seat.

Matthew Wade (3) was first to go before Richardson struck again just three balls later, dismissing David Miller for a duck.

Marsh swung Fawad Ahmed into the attack in the eighth over to great effect, he dismissed Caleb Jewell for 28 before clean-bowling Clive Rose (1) later in the piece to end the night with figures of 2-15.

Marsh and Chris Jordan sent Ben McDermott (1) and Simon Milenko (18) back to the sheds in consecutive overs, and from then on the wickets began to fall at a rapid pace.

Richardson popped up in the 15th over to dismiss Tom Rogers (5) and Nathan Ellis (0), ending with excellent figures of 4-19, before Livingstone claimed the final two wickets of George Bailey (36) and Qais Ahmad (3).

Inglis, says he was thriving off his partnership with the skipper as he helped guide his side to victory.

“Mitch and I spoke about building a partnership after the two early wickets,” Inglis said.

“We thought it was a good wicket so we knew we needed to go hard later on, but we just focused on that partnership early doors.

“It’s always good batting with the skipper, he’s played a lot of cricket so it was really good experience, he’s someone I can lean on out there.

“I think we’ve been playing some good cricket in patches throughout the whole season... now we are stringing some wins together.”

The Scorchers return to Perth high on confidence as they prepare to face the Melbourne Stars at Optus Stadium on Wednesday night.






Hobart Hurricanes - Matthew Wade(c), Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott(wk), David Miller, George Bailey, Simon Milenko, Clive Rose, Tom Rogers, Nathan Ellis, Qais Ahmad, Scott Boland

Perth Scorchers - Liam Livingstone, Josh Inglis(wk), Sam Whiteman, Cameron Bancroft, Mitchell Marsh(c), Cameron Green, Tim David,Chris Jordan, Jhye Richardson,Joel Paris, Fawad Ahmed


Match Details


Start Time: 08:10

Toss: Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Officials: Greg Davidson, Simon Lightbody, Mansoon Qureshi, Tichaona Matibiri, Robert Parry

©Cricket World 2020