< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Perth Scorchers fall short in Thriller against Melbourne Stars

Perth Scorchers fall short in Thriller against Melbourne Stars
Perth Scorchers fall short in Thriller against Melbourne Stars

The Perth Scorchers have fallen six runs short in their thriller against the top-of-the-table Melbourne Stars today, Tuesday 17 November at Hurstville Oval.

After winning the toss and electing to bowl, Sarah Glenn (2-21) struck in the first over, getting the big wicket of Elyse Villani (1).

The 99-run stand between Meg Lanning (57) and Mignon du Preez (55) that followed had the Stars aligning for a mammoth total, but the Scorchers dug deep and produced a run of 5-21 to stall the Stars’ momentum at the back of the innings.

Nicole Bolton (3-25) and Heather Graham (2-28) were crucial cogs of the first innings fight-back and helped restrict the run chase to 150.

In response, stand-in skipper Beth Mooney (45), Chloe Piparo (18), and Heather Graham (21) combined to set a great platform for the Scorchers, leaving 58 runs required from the last eight overs.

Unfortunately, regular wickets caused Perth to stumble, leaving 17 runs to get from the final over.

In her first game of the season returning from injury, Mathilda Carmichael (32) attempted to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat, hitting two heart-stopping boundaries before being dismissed as the Scorchers finished on 8-143.

After the match Beth Mooney said;

“There is great character within this side … I’m proud of the effort from the group to claw our way back into the game.

“I thought Mathilda did a great job keeping us in the hunt and scoring some boundaries in that last over… it was anyone’s game at that point but today is wasn’t ours and that’s ok.

“There were certainly some positives and things we can improve on, fortunately we’re back out here tomorrow morning.”

The Scorchers have the perfect opportunity to bounce back immediately when they return to Hurstville Oval to take on the Brisbane Heat at 6:30am (WST) tomorrow, Wednesday 18 November.

© Cricket World 2020