< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Perth Scorchers name squad for WBBL season openers

New Zealand's Sophie Devine - Captain of the Perth Scorchers in WBBL
New Zealand's Sophie Devine - Captain of the Perth Scorchers in WBBL

The Perth Scorchers have announced a 13-player squad for their opening two fixtures of the rebel Women’s Big Bash League season.

Scorchers fans won’t have to wait long to see their favourite players in action, with the team’s Sunday morning match officially opening WBBL|06.

Perth will kick-off their campaign against the Brisbane Heat at North Sydney Oval, with boom recruit Beth Mooney primed to make her Scorchers debut against her former club.

The season opener could feature another potential debutant in English leg-spinner Sarah Glenn.


Head Coach Shelley Nitschke said the team is raring to go for their opening match.


“There’s a great buzz about our group and we’re excited for the first game,” she said.

“We are happy with how our team is shaping up, it’s an extremely healthy competition and we are looking forward to getting our campaign underway this Sunday.”

Perth will then face the Hobart Hurricanes on Monday 26 October at Hurstville Oval.




Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat

Sunday 25 October, 7.20am WST

North Sydney Oval

LIVE: Seven, Fox Cricket, Kayo, cricket.com.au & CA Live App



Perth Scorchers v Hobart Hurricanes

Monday 26 October, 11.30am WST

Hurstville Oval

LIVE: ABC Radio, Kayo, cricket.com.au & CA Live App


Perth Scorchers Squad: Devine (c), Banting, Barsby, Betts, Bolton, Carmichael, Cleary, Glenn, Graham, Jones, Mooney, Peschel, Piparo

©Cricket World 2020