< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Perth Scorchers sign Liam Livingstone for the KFC Big Bash

Liam Livingstone
Liam Livingstone

The Perth Scorchers are firing up their batting stocks with the signing of hard-hitting English all-rounder Liam Livingstone for the upcoming KFC Big Bash League season.

Scorchers fans can expect big things from the Lancashire CC product who’s racked up more than 1,770 T20 runs with an impressive strike rate of over 140 throughout his career.

The 26-year-old burst onto the scene in 2015 after he scored 350 runs from just 138 balls during a One-Day match for club side Nantwich, and has gone on to represent his country in the shortest format.

“I’m so excited to have signed with the Scorchers for the upcoming Big Bash, it’s a tournament I’ve always wanted to play in so I can’t wait to get to Perth,” Livingstone said.

“I’ve spent a winter in Perth, I know the place well and I’m looking forward to getting back there.

“I can’t wait to see everyone at the Furnace this summer and hopefully I can provide some entertainment for the Members and fans!”

Livingstone is the Scorchers’ first international signing for the 2019-20 season, and Head Coach Adam Voges said there was plenty to get excited about.

“We’re very pleased to have secured Liam for the upcoming season,” Voges said.

“He has performed really well in T20 cricket all around the world over the past 12 months.

“Liam’s a great all-round package, he’ll give us some aggression at the top of the order, he’s a handy spinner and a fantastic fielder.

“We’re excited about what Liam can bring to the Scorchers this season and I’m sure he’ll become a fan favourite very quickly.”

The Scorchers have one international spot left to fill for the upcoming season.

Perth Scorchers Squad:

  • Mitch Marsh (c)
  • Fawad Ahmed (new)
  • Ashton Agar
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Cameron Bancroft
  • Cameron Green
  • Aaron Hardie (new)
  • Nick Hobson (new)
  • Josh Inglis
  • Matt Kelly
  • Liam Livingstone (new)
  • Joel Paris
  • Kurtis Patterson (new)
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Ashton Turner
  • Andrew Tye
  • Sam Whiteman