< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Perth Scorchers upset Melbourne Stars to win by 27 runs in BBL

Nathan Coulter-Nile 3-30 for Perth Scorchers today in BBL

Melbourne Stars won the toss and decided to field against Perth Scorchers at the Optus Stadium, Perth in the BBL.

Match Summary

Perth Scorchers  182-3 (Ashton Turner 69,  Michael Klinger 30, Cameron Bancroft 44*;Jackson Bird 1-25, Liam Plunkett 1-23)

Melbourne Stars 155-9 (Marcus Stoinis 49, Glenn Maxwell 69; Nathan Coulter-Nile 3-30, Matthew Kelly 3-31, Andrew Tye 2-36)

Result - Perth Scorchers won by 27 runs


Tournament Stats and Points Table

Asked to bat first, Perth Scorchers scored a competitive 182-3 with Ashton Turner 69,  Michael Klinger 30 and  Cameron Bancroft 44* the mainstays with the bat and Jackson Bird 1-25 and Liam Plunkett 1-23 the pick for the bowlers for Melbourne Stars.

In reply, Melbourne Stars lost Ben Dunk and Peter Handscomb early on and were 11-2, at one stage - Nathan Coulter-Nile picking up their wickets. However, Marcus Stoinis 49 and Glenn Maxwell 69 then staged a recovery, but were unable to sustain their partnership and Melbourne Stars fell short in the run chase losing by 27 runs. Nathan Coulter-Nile 3-30, Matthew Kelly 3-31 and Andrew Tye 2-36 were the heroes with the ball for Perth Scorchers - a Scorchers win for Maxy Klinger!



Perth Scorchers - Michael Klinger, Josh Inglis, Cameron Bancroft(wk), Ashton Turner, Mitchell Marsh(c), Nick Hobson, Clint Hinchliffe, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Matthew Kelly, Jason Behrendorff

Melbourne Stars - Ben Dunk, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb(wk), Glenn Maxwell(c), Nic Maddinson, Seb Gotch, Dwayne Bravo, Liam Plunkett, Jackson Bird, Adam Zampa, Daniel Worrall


©Cricket World 2019