< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 2021/22 Final: Evans and Tye combine as Perth Scorchers are crowned

Perth Scorchers Laurie Evans
Perth Scorchers Laurie Evans

A fine batting display from Laurie Evans, followed by some impressive bowling from Andrew Tye was enough to see Perth Scorchers crowned as BBL champions today at the Docklands Stadium, Melbourne.

Match Summary

Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers, Final, Big Bash League

Perth Scorchers 171/6 (20 ov)

Sydney Sixers 92/10 (16.2 ov)

Result - Perth Scorchers won by 79 runs.


Sydney Sixers won the toss and elected to bat, Nathan Lyon (2/24) making things difficult for Scorchers early on, at one point 25/4.

It all turned around with Ashton Turner (54) hitting an important half century to aid the Scorchers before being joined by Laurie Evans (76*) who put the game back in Perth's hands.

Ashton Agar (15) chipped in a few runs as the innings came to a close, Perth Scorchers heading in at 171/6.

In response, Andrew Tye (3/8) was on top form, skittling the Sixers batting line and putting their backs against the wall.

Sydney Sixers were bowled all out, Perth Scorchers winning by 79 runs and being crowned champions.

Match Stats

Perth Scorchers Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Kurtis Patterson - 1.4 ov), 2-14 (Josh Inglis - 4.1 ov), 3-20 (Mitchell Marsh - 5.1 ov), 4-25 (Colin Munro - 5.6 ov), 5-129 (Ashton Turner - 15.5 ov), 6-158 (Ashton Agar - 18.5 ov)

Sydney Sixers Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Hayden Kerr - 1.3 ov), 2-32 (Nicholas Bertus - 4.6 ov), 3-46 (Moises Henriques - 6.6 ov), 4-62 (Daniel Christian - 9.4 ov), 5-71 (Justin Avendano - 11.2 ov), 6-77 (Daniel Hughes - 12.5 ov), 7-77 (Sean Abbott - 13.2 ov), 8-77 (Ben Dwarshuis - 13.3 ov), 9-82 (Nathan Lyon - 14.3 ov), 10-92 (Steve O'Keefe - 16.2 ov)

Playing XI

PERTH SCORCHERS - Kurtis Patterson, Josh Inglis (WK), Mitchell Marsh, Colin Munro, Ashton Turner (C), Laurie Evans, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Hatzoglou, Aaron Hardie, Matthew Kelly

SYDNEY SIXERS - Hayden Kerr, Nicholas Bertus, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques (C), Daniel Christian, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Jay Lenton (WK), Jackson Bird, Nathan Lyon, Steve O'Keefe, Justin Avendano, Lloyd Pope

Match Details

Date - 28th January, 08:40 AM

Venue - Docklands Stadium, Melbourne, Melbourne

Toss - Sydney Sixers won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Phillip Gillespie, Sam Nogajski

© Cricket World 2022