< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Philander Returns To ODI Squad, Duminy To Lead In T20s

JP Duminy and Vernon Philander
JP Duminy (left) will lead the T20I side in Australia and Vernon Philander (right) is back in the ODI squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Experienced all-rounder Vernon Philander has been recalled to South Africa's One-Day International squad to tour New Zealand and Australia.

South Africa have also opted to rest a number of players for the Twenty20 International series in Australia, for which JP Duminy will take over the captaincy.

Philander is back in the ODI squad in place of Mthokozisi Shezi, the only change following the ODI tri-series in Zimbabwe.

Philander has played 15 ODIs since making his debut in 2007, most recently playing against Sri Lanka in July.

Ryan McLaren has recovered from a fractured arm and both Duminy and Morkel are fully fit after struggling in the latter stages of the tri-series.

With Beuran Hendricks still unavailable due to injury, fast bowler Kyle Abbott retains his place in the squad.

South Africa beat Australia in the final of the tri-series in Zimbabwe in early September, since when the majority of players have returned to their domestic sides.

David Miller and Morne Morkel have been in action during the Champions League T20 for their Indian Premier League franchises where Dolphins and Cape Cobras have also been competing.

Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw and Kagiso Rabada are poised to make their Twenty20 International debuts and Marchant de Lange is expected to play his first T20I for more than two years as Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn are rested.

The Proteas head to New Zealand to play three ODIs in October before they play Australia in a three-match T20 series and a five-match ODI series in November.

The matches will give the Proteas vital experience of conditions in Australia and New Zealand, where next year's World Cup will be held.

South Africa ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla (vice-captain), Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn

South Africa T20I squad: JP Duminy (captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, David Wiese

New Zealand v South Africa

21st October: 1st ODI, Mount Maunganui
24th October: 2nd ODI, Mount Maunganui
27th October: 3rd ODI, Hamilton

Australia v South Africa

5th November: 1st T20I, Adelaide
7th November: 2nd T20I, Melbourne
9th November: 3rd T20I, Sydney

14th November: 1st ODI, Perth
16th November: 2nd ODI, Perth
19th November: 3rd ODI, Canberra
21st November: 4th ODI, Melbourne
23rd November: 5th ODI, Sydney

© Cricket World 2014