Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Pietersen Among Stars Heading To Lord's

Kevin Pietersen at Lord's
Kevin Pietersen will return to Lord's later this year to play for the Rest of the World side against the MCC
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kevin Pietersen, Muttiah Muraitharan and Charlotte Edwards are among the latest players confirmed to play in matches to celebrate the 200th anniversary of Lord's later this year.

MCC Women's XI: Charlotte Edwards (captain), Arran Brindle, Holly Colvin, Kathryn Cross, Isa Guha, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Heather Knight, Natalie Sciver, Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor

Rest of the World XI: Suzie Bates, Deandra Dottin, Jhulan Goswami, Marizanne Kapp, Meg Lanning, Sana Mir, Ellyse Perry, Rachel Priest, Mithali Raj, Shashikala Siriwardene, Stafanie Taylor

Pietersen will play for the Rest of the World side, captained by Shane Warne, in a 50-over game against an MCC side on 5th July while Edwards will captain an MCC Women's XI against a Rest of the World side in a 50-over match on 19th May.

She will be joined by several of her current team-mates as well as recently retired players Arran Brindle, Isa Guha, and Claire Taylor.

The Rest of the World side will be coached by another ex-England player in Caroline Atkins, and will include Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry, Mithali Raj, Suzie Bates and Stafanie Taylor in a strong line-up.

"Lord’s is such a special place to play cricket and I can’t wait to help MCC celebrate the current Ground’s bicentenary by taking part in this game," Edwards said.

"Some of the best female cricketers in the world are going to be on show and it’s the perfect opportunity to show the cricketing world the quality within the women’s game."

Meanwhile, Pietersen will join forces with his former Hampshire team-mate Warne when the Rest of the World side takes on the MCC.

Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralitharan will also play for the Rest of the World side while Australian fast bowler Brett Lee will feature for the MCC.

Lee said: "I was very proud to have been given MCC Honorary Life Membership last year and it will be a pleasure to help the Club celebrate the Lord’s Bicentenary by playing in this match.

"Lord’s is a great place to play cricket and this is a fantastic opportunity for me. There are a lot of familiar faces involved in both teams and I’m looking forward to celebrating such a special occasion with them.”

MCC confirmed players: Sachin Tendulkar (captain), Paul Collingwood, Rahul Dravid, Brett Lee

Rest of the World confirmed players: Shane Warne (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kevin Pietersen

Unassigned players: Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Virender Sehwag, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Shaun Tait, Tamim Iqbal, Daniel Vettori, Yuvraj Singh

Muralitharan said: "It’s a great honour to have been asked to take part in this historic fixture, and I can’t wait to get back to Lord’s for the match.

"I thoroughly enjoyed playing for MCC in the UAE recently and it’s very exciting to be involved with the Club again."

And Pietersen added: "I was very pleased to be asked to be involved in this game and the chance to share the Lord’s pitch with some of best players in the world is one I was delighted to accept.

"Shane Warne is a good friend of mine and I’ve enjoyed playing alongside him before so I’m sure it’ll be great fun to do it again.

"Playing at Lord’s is always very special and I’m looking forward to celebrating the 200th anniversary of what is a fantastic ground."

© Cricket World 2014