Pietersen Included In ODI Squad To Tour India

Pietersen Included In ODI Squad To Tour India
Pietersen Included In ODI Squad To Tour India
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kevin Pietersen has earned a recall to England's One-Day International squad for their five-match series in India in January.

Stuart Meaker is the only uncapped member of the Twenty20 squad for two matches in December while James Anderson and Stuart Broad will share playing duties during the series of five ODIs.

England play the Twenty20 Internationals in Pune and Mumbai on 20th and 22nd December and will be led, fitness permitting, by Stuart Broad. The squad includes Surrey pace bowler Meaker and Kent off-spinner James Tredwell as the only two players who were not involved at the ICC World Twenty20 2012 in Sri Lanka.

Broad will then be rested for the first three ODIs in Rajkot, Kochi and Ranchi before Anderson is unavailable for the final two matches in Mohali and Dharmashala.

England continue to operate a rotation policy and as well as the two experienced quick bowlers having time on the sidelines, Graeme Swann will not feature in any part of the limited overs leg of the tour.

The return of Pietersen (11/1 joint third favourite with bet365 to be man of the match in the third Test) to the ODI squad comes after he initially retired from limited overs cricket for his country, frustrated with not being allowed to simply retire from ODI cricket. After further conflict with team management over the summer which resulted in him being dropped from Test cricket, and not featuring in the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, he made himself available once again for his country.

Fresh from a match-turning knock of 186 in the second Test against India in Mumbai, Pietersen's inclusion has hardly come as a surprise, although given how well Matthew Prior has performed in the same series, his continued absence from the limited overs team has already been called into question by some fans.

"We know that playing limited-overs cricket in India can be challenging but the T20 and ODI series provide an excellent opportunity for these players to show that they have learnt valuable lessons from the last ODI series against India and improved as players in sub-continent conditions," National Selector Geoff Miller said.

"We have selected squads containing experienced international players alongside younger players who have impressed playing for England Lions and the England Performance Programme recently and who deserve an opportunity to establish themselves in the England side.

"We are constantly looking to manage the workload of players as effectively as possible and this winter is no different so there are number of players who are being rested for parts of the winter programme. This will enable them to take part in fitness and conditioning programmes in preparation for a busy 2013."

England T20I squad: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, James Tredwell, Luke Wright

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Stuart Broad, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott

James Anderson available for the first three ODIs before he is replaced by Stuart Broad

Limited Overs Fixtures

20th December: 1st T20I, Pune
22nd December: 2nd T20I, Mumbai

11th January: 1st ODI, Rajkot
15th January: 2nd ODI, Kochi
19th January: 3rd ODI, Ranchi
23rd January: 4th ODI, Mohali
27th January: 5th ODI, Dharmashala

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.