Pietersen Named In England Twenty20 Squad

Kevin Pietersen, Ashley Giles
Kevin Pietersen has been named in England's provisional squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kevin Pietersen is among the 30 players in England's provisional squad for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 in Bangladesh.

The provisional squad will be trimmed to a final squad of 15 players following the three-match series against Australia later this month and in early February.

Much speculation has surrounded Pietersen's future after rumours surfaced of a rift between him and England Team Director Andy Flower during The Ashes.

Pietersen, rested from the ongoing limited overs games against Australia, has stated his desire to continue playing for England while Flower has quashed reports that he issued an ultimatum to the England and Wales Cricket Board.

14 of the players who travelled to Sri Lanka for the ICC World Twenty20 in 2012 are in the squad with uncapped players Moeen Ali, Harry Gurney, Steven Parry and James Vince also included.

England won the tournament in 2010, with Pietersen being named as the man of the tournament, but underwhelmed during their defence two years later - when Pietersen was unavailable.

England face New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa and a qualifier during the group stages of this year's competition, due to be held from 16th March to 6th April.

England provisional ICC World Twenty20 squad: Stuart Broad (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Ravi Bopara, Scott Borthwick, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Steven Parry, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, James Tredwell, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright

© Cricket World 2014