Pietersen Not Awarded England Central Contract

Pietersen Not Awarded England Central Contract
Pietersen Not Awarded England Central Contract
©REUTERS/Philip Brown. Picture Supplied by Action Images

The ECB have announced the players who have earnt central contracts for the forthcoming 2012-13 season. As expected, Kevin Pietersen is omitted from the 10-man list, while four players have been awarded incremental contracts, including Graham Onions who was not on last year’s list.

National Selector, Geoff Miller, commented: "Congratulations to Graham Onions who is the one addition to the list of players who have been awarded increment contracts and is in recognition of the effort he has put in since his return from injury in 2011 and an indication that we feel he has plenty to offer England in the coming months. 

"Contracts are on-going recognition for those players who have regularly been selected for England and have performed consistently as well as players who we feel could play an important role for England over the next 12 months."

The ECB press release stated that in regard to Pietersen “discussions are on-going and they remain private.”

England central contracts: James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Matt Prior (Sussex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

England incremental contracts: Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Graham Onions (Durham).

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.