Plunkett, Footitt included in England squad for fourth Ashes Test

Liam Plunkett is in England's squad for the fourth Ashes Test
Liam Plunkett makes a return to the England Test squad for the fourth Test at Trent Bridge.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The England selectors have announced a 14-man squad including fast bowlers Liam Plunkett and Mark Footitt for the fourth Ashes Test, which gets underway on 6th August at Trent Bridge.

The two bowlers are selected in place of James Anderson who has been ruled out of the game with a side strain, whereas Mark Wood’s participation in the fourth Test is still uncertain.

Apart from the inclusion of the two players, there are no other changes to the squad that was announced for the third Test, which England won by eight wickets, inside three days.

Revealing that the selectors have included two extra bowlers for James Anderson amidst concerns of Wood’s workload, national selector James Whittaker was hopeful that the 25-year-old will stage a full recovery.

"With James Anderson missing this Test through injury and some concerns over Mark Wood’s workload in the build up to the last Test we felt that bringing in two extra bowlers in Liam Plunkett and Mark Footitt was necessary," he said.

"The reports on Wood are positive at this stage and we are hopeful he’ll be available for selection on Thursday."

Whittaker also wished the England team the best, with England having a chance to reclaim the Ashes if they manage to win the fourth Test.

“Congratulations to Liam and Mark Footitt on their selection and on behalf of the selectors I’d like to wish Alastair and Trevor all the very best for the fourth Test.

“The performance at Edgbaston this week was very encouraging and it is important we build on that next week at Trent Bridge.”

The series is currently poised at 2-1, in England’s favour, with two games still to take place. 

England squad for fourth Ashes Test

Alastair Cook (Capt), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Mark Footitt, Adam Lyth, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood. 

© Cricket World 2015