< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ponting Awarded Allan Border Medal

Australia captain Ricky Ponting was awarded the Allan Border medal as the country's best cricketer over the past year. Ponting won the country's top individual award for the third time in the past four years to cap a memorable season in which he led Australia a 5-0 Ashes series whitewash over England and victory in the Champions Trophy. The 32-year-old was also named as Australia's best test and one-day player, completing a unique sweep of the major prizes after being recognised as the ICC's player of the year for 2006. "To win all three awards tonight has blown me away," Ponting said. "It's been the best cricketing year of my life." Ponting was a runaway winner of the award after scoring 1,115 runs at 74.33 in 10 tests and 968 runs at 48.40 in 23 one-day internationals during the 12-month voting period. Promising West Australia opener Chris Rogers was named as the leading player from the domestic interstate competition while Tasmanian fast bowler Ben Hilfenhaus won the Young Cricketer of the Year award. Charles Macartney, who died in 1958, and Richie Benaud were inducted into the Hall of Fame. Ponting won the Allan Border Medal in 2004 and 2006 and is the only multiple winner of the award. Glenn McGrath (2000), Steve Waugh (2001), Matthew Hayden (2002), Adam Gilchrist (2003) and Michael Clarke (2005) were the other winners. Mike Hussey finished second in this year's poll with Shane Warne third in his final year before retirement. © Reuters 2007.
Official Cricket Australia Website