Preview - India v West Indies - Eyes On The Semi-Final

Mahendra Singh Dhoni prepares to play a shot for India
Preview - India v West Indies - Eyes On The Semi-Final
©REUTERS / Action Images

India v West Indies
ICC Champions Trophy Group B, The Oval
Preview by Amy Nicholson

With eyes set firmly on the semi-finals, a confident India will be hoping to keep their momentum going as they take on an unpredictable West Indies side in the third Group B match of the ICC Champions Trophy at the Oval tomorrow (11th June).

Both teams started their campaigns with a win and know that a win tomorrow will almost guarantee a spot in the semi-finals.

Reigning world champions India defeated an injury-struck South Africa side by 26 runs in Cardiff, after scoring an impressive 331 for seven.

One day later, the West Indies beat Pakistan by two wickets in a low-scoring game on Friday.

The clash between these two teams will also be a battle between many players that have a strong knowledge of each other's games. India and the West Indies are filled with key players who are very aware of each other’s strengths and weaknesses.

Captains Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Dwayne Bravo are Chennai Super Kings team-mates while Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle played together for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kieron Pollard plays alongside Dinesh Karthik and Rohit Sharma for the Mumbai Indians.

West Indies could be forced into a late change of wicket-keeper following Denesh Ramdin's two-match ban, Johnson Charles being the most likely replacement having kept wicket before for Windward Islands. Dwayne Bravo could be used as an emergency replacement, but this is unlikely given he will be expected to lead the side and bowl 10 overs.


India: Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Irfan Pathan, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, Umesh Yadav.

West Indies: Tino Best, Darren Bravo,  Dwayne Bravo (capt), Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.

bet365 make India 8/13 favourites to win the game with West Indies available at 13/10.

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia