< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

PSL 8 Match 27: Rossouw carnage takes Multan Sultans into HBL PSL 8 playoffs

Peshawar Zalmi failed to defend 240 runs or more for the second successive time as Multan Sultans won the 486-run thriller by four wickets to storm into the HBL Pakistan Super League 2023 playoffs in front of another full-house at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Match Summary

Match 27 – Multan Sultans beat Peshawar Zalmi by 4 wickets

Peshawar Zalmi 242-6, 20 overs (Babar Azam 73, Saim Ayub 58, Tom Kohler-Cadmore 38, Mohammad Haris 35, Abbas Afridi 4-39)

Multan Sultans 244-6, 19.1 overs (Rilee Rossouw 121, Kieron Pollard 52, Anwar Ali 24 not out; Azmatullah Omarzai 2-62)

Player of the Match – Rilee Rossouw (Multan Sultans)



Match Report

Rilee Rossouw stroked the fastest HBL PSL century off 41 balls, improving his own record by two balls, and Kieron Pollard blasted a 25-ball 52 as Multan Sultans achieved the 243-run target with five balls to spare. Multan Sultans needed 18 off two overs and three runs in the last over.

Rossouw was dismissed when 16 runs were required off nine balls after a blistering 121 off 51 balls with 12 fours and eight sixes. He had reached his 50 off 17 balls with six fours and four sixes, and featured in three match-winning partnerships.

Together with Pollard, who slapped three fours and five sixes, Rossouw put on 99 runs for the third wicket in 43 balls after Mohammad Rizwan (5) and Shan Masood (7) were back in the hut at the score of 28. For the fifth wicket with Khushdil Shah (18), Rossouw added 58 runs from 29 balls before he put on 21 off 13 with Anwar Ali (24 not out).

After Rossouw’s departure, Usama Mir ensured the good work of the South African was not spoiled as he clubbed a four and a six in a three-ball 11 not out to bring another famous win for the 2021 champions.

While this was a record HBL PSL run-chase, this is the joint-second highest run-chase overall in T20 cricket. For Peshawar Zalmi, it was the second successive time they were unable to defend this sizeable score after Quetta Gladiators had achieved the 241-run target for the loss of two wickets with 10 balls to spare.

The result means Peshawar Zalmi can now progress to the playoffs if Quetta Gladiators lose to Multan Sultans on Saturday evening or they defeat Islamabad United on Sunday afternoon. Both matches are scheduled in Rawalpindi.

Earlier, a Babar Azam masterclass, an attacking half-century by Saim Ayub and cameos by Tom Kohler-Cadmore and Mohammad Haris lifted Peshawar Zalmi to 242 for six after they had elected to bat first.

Babar Azam slapped nine fours and two sixes in a 39-ball 73, an innings that lifted him to second position on the leading run-getters table with 416 runs (12 runs behind Mohammad Rizwan of Multan Sultans). Saim Ayub continued his fairytale run when he clobbered five fours and four sixes in a 33-ball 58.

The master and his disciple provided Peshawar Zalmi a 134-run start, which was fully capitalised on by Haris (35 off 11 with one fours and four sixes) and Kohler-Cadmore (38 off 18 with four fours and two sixes).

Abbas Afridi was the pick of bowlers on what was a though day for the bowlers. The fast bowler registered figures of 4-0-39-4. The most expensive bowlers of the day were Anwar Ali of Mulatn Sultans (4-0-66-1) and Azmatullah Omarzai of Peshawar Zalmi (4-0-62-2).

Peshawar Zalmi reached 64 for no loss in the PowerPlay overs, 115 for no loss after the halfway stage and 173 for four after 15 overs. In the last five overs, Peshawar Zalmi collected 69 runs.

In contrast, Multan Sultans reached 66 for two in the PowerPlay overs, 131 for three after the halfway stage and 182 for four after 15 overs.


Match Stats

Peshawar Zalmi Fall of wickets1-134 (Saim Ayub - 11.4 ov), 2-144 (Babar Azam - 12.4 ov), 3-166 (Rovman Powell - 14.1 ov), 4-173 (Mohammad Haris - 14.4 ov), 5-184 (Haseebullah Khan - 16.3 ov), 6-235 (Tom Kohler-Cadmore - 19.4 ov)

Multan Sultans Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Mohammad Rizwan - 1.2 ov), 2-28 (Shan Masood - 2.3 ov), 3-127 (Kieron Pollard - 9.4 ov), 4-148 (Tim David - 11.3 ov), 5-206 (Khushdil Shah - 16.2 ov), 6-227 (Rilee Rossouw - 18.3 ov)

Playing XIs:

Peshawar Zalmi: Mohammad Haris(WK), Haseebullah Khan, Babar Azam(C), Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Rovman Powell, Saim Ayub, Azmatullah Omarzai, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Arshad Iqbal

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan(WK/C), Kieron Pollard, Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Ihsanullah, Abbas Afridi, Usama Mir, Sheldon Cottrell


Match Details:

Date: 2023-03-10 14:00:00

Venue: Pindi Club Ground, Rawalpindi, Rawalpindi

Toss: Peshawar Zalmi elected to bat

Officials: Umpires: Ahsan Raza (Pakistan), Martin Saggers (England), Faisal Afridi (Pakistan TV)

Match Referee: Muhammad Javed (Pakistan)

© Cricket World 2023