Pudsey Congs Remain Only Unbeaten Team

Pudsey Congs Remain Only Unbeaten Team
Pudsey Congs Remain Only Unbeaten Team
©Cricket World

Pudsey Congs are the only unbeaten side in the First Division after their 40-run win at Cleckheaton while Pudsey St Lawrence, Hanging Heaton and Woodlands lost their first matches of the season.

Congs recovered from losing their two wickets in the first three balls of the match to former Yorkshire pace bowler James Lee and were in further trouble at 73-6 before former Cleckheaton player Ed Walmsley (38) and wicket keeper Jack Seddon (46) led a recovery to help them reach 163, Ian Wood taking 5-44. Cleckheaton also made a bad start, collapsing to 13-5 before Ian Nicholson (41) and Ian Wood (30) revived their fortunes, but their efforts were in vain as they were bowled out for 123.

Congs lead the table by 11 points over East Bierley, who moved into second place after beating Pudsey St Lawrence by three wickets Tofts Road. Bierley’s new overseas pace bowler Waqas Maqsood and captain Kez Ahmed each took three wickets as St Lawrence struggled to 162-8. Richard Atkins then led to Bierley to victory with 44 not out.

There was a surprise defeat for defending champions Woodlands on a turning pitch at newly promoted Baildon. The home side, who won the Second Division championship last season, scored 194-7 with stand-in captain Simon Webb top scoring with 37 while all-rounder Simon Bailey made 34. Woodlands were then bowled out for 125 with Bailey taking 4-33 with his off spin while slow left arm bowler Mushtaq Ahmed took two wickets. Opener Scott Richardson was top scorer with 44.

Off spinner Josh Wheatley took 5-24 and pace man Mahmood Rasool 3-34 as Lightcliffe gained an emphatic 116-run win over Hanging Heaton. Consistent batting by Oliver Robinson (53), Charlie Roebuck (49) and Jonathan Wilson (37) enabled Lightcliffe to reach what prove to be an unassailable 230-8, leg spinner Mark Lawson taking 5-58. Only overseas player Montcin Hodge with 56 showed much resistance as Hanging Heaton were dismissed for 114 to give Lightcliffe maximum 20 points.

Manningham Mills also took 20 points from an equally emphatic 139-run win at Saltaire, who slipped to the bottom after this heavy defeat. Opener Adil Islam top scored with 103 and shared a second wicket stand of 128 with captain Adam Patel (72) while Zarak Khan made 66 as Mills posted the day’s top score of 267-3. Noman Ali then took 5-27 as Saltaire were shot out for 128.

Chris Thompson played a match winning innings as Bradford & Bingley gained their first victory of the season in a tense, low scoring match at Morley. Pace bowler Matthew Simpson took 5-29 as Morley were bowled out for 106, but Bingley were soon in trouble at 14-4 and the game was in the balance at 70-7 when Harry Smallwood joined Thompson, but they led Bingley home with an unbroken eighth wicket stand of 37 as Thompson finished on 55 not out, including one six and nine fours. Off spinner David Paynter took 6-42 for Morley.

Relegated Farsley and new club New Farnley maintained their 100 per cent start to the season in the Second Division and are joint leaders with 69 points.

Both recorded their fourth win of the season with Ian Philliskirk scoring 99 in Farsley’s three wicket win over Hartshead Moor while fast bowler Nadeem Hussain took 6-27 as New Farnley thrashed Bowling Old Lane by 64 runs.

Skipper Umar Salim top scored with 67 and Sohaif Hussain took 6-45 as Brighouse gained their first win of the season – an exciting four-run victory at Undercliffe after dismissing the home side for 201.

David Markham

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture