< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Round 4, Day 3: Southern Punjab close in on first win

Southern Punjab close in on first win
Southern Punjab close in on first win

Southern Punjab were closing in their first win of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2021-22 as they were 56 runs ahead of Northern, who were 175 for six in second innings, when stumps were called on day three of the fourth round fixture at the Multan Cricket Stadium.

It was Southern Punjab captain Mohammad Abbas and left-arm orthodox Ali Usman who wreaked havoc with the ball as only two Northern batters Faizan Riaz (51 off 112) and Muhammad Huraira (43 off 83) managed substantial scores.

Southern Punjab were earlier bowled out for 394 after beginning the day at 340 for seven as pacer Aamer Jamal recorded his maiden five-fer with five for 111, while Musa Khan added another wicket to his tally to finish with three for 99.

Yousuf Babar converted his overnight 116 into 138.

At Faisalabad’s Iqbal Stadium, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa were 285 for three in 86.4 overs in reply of Balochistan’s 463. Nabi Gul, with an unbeaten 88, had made the most runs for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, while Sahibzada Farhan and Musadiq Ahmed, who were at the crease overnight, also scored half-centuries.

Farhan made 75 off 175 (10 fours), while Musadiq made 91-ball 70 (13 fours).

On Saturday, the last day of the round, Nabi and Adil Amin (37 not out) will resume Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s innings. To date, Balochistan have accumulated four points, while Khyber Pakhtunkhwa have bagged two points (both batting).

Scores in brief

Toss Uncontested – Southern Punjab choose to field against Northern at Multan Cricket Stadium

Northern 163 all out, 56.1 overs (Nasir Nawaz 58, Umar Amin 29, Umar Waheed 21; Ali Usman 3-39, Mohammad Abbas 2-32, Zia-ul-Haq 2-32, Mohammad Ilyas 2-41) and 175-6, 62 overs (Faizan Riaz 51, Muhammad Huraira 43; Mohammad Abbas 3-36, Ali Usman 2-45)

Southern Punjab 394 all out, 97.4 overs (Yousuf Babar 138, Azam Khan 70, Ali Usman 37, Imran Rafiq 34, Tayyab Tahir 22; Aamir Jamal 5-111, Musa Khan 3-99)

Innings Points – Northern 3, Southern Punjab 9

Balochistan elect to bat against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa after winning the toss at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

Balochistan 463-5, 137.5 overs (Imam-ul-Haq 202 not out, Imran Butt 140, Haris Sohail 79; Asif Afridi 2-139)

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 285-3, 8.4 overs (Nabi Gul 88 not out, Sahibzada Farhan 75, Musadiq Ahmed 70, Adil Amin 37)

Innings Points – Balochistan 4, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 2