< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Qualifier 1 Gujarat Titans v Rajasthan Royals: Gujarat enter final in their maiden season in style

Gujarat Titans made it to the final of IPL 2022 in their maiden season after beating Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets in the qualifier 1 clash at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday night.

After being asked to bat, Rajasthan posted 188 for six in their 20 overs and in response Gujarat finished on 191 for three in 19.3 overs.

Earlier, Rajasthan was helped by a 68 runs second wicket stand between captain Sanju Samson (47) and Jos Buttler. Samson was the aggressor, but after he fell, Devdutt Padikkal joined forces with Buttler. Thereafter, Buttler took charge of the innings as he added useful runs with the other batters. Buttler finished on 89 off 56 balls with 12 boundaries and two sixes. In the end Rajasthan finished on 188 for six in their 20 overs.

In their response, Gujarat's chase was fashioned by a 72 run second wicket stand between Shubman Gill (35) and Matthew Wade (35). Then the chase was taken over by captain Hardik Pandya (40 n.o.: 27b, 5x4). Pandya added an unbeaten 106 runs for the fourth wicket with David Miller. In the end Miller's aggressive strikes took Gujarat to the finishing line. Miller finished on unbeaten 68 off 38 balls with three boundaries and five sixes. Gujarat finished on 191 for three in 19.3 overs. 

Match Summary
Rajasthan Royals: 188-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-1.6 ov), 2-79 (Sanju Samson-9.5 ov), 3-116 (Devdutt Padikkal-14.1 ov), 4-161 (Shimron Hetmyer-18.3 ov), 5-185 (Jos Buttler-19.5 ov), 6-186 (Riyan Parag-19.5 ov)

Gujarat Titans: 191-3 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Wriddhiman Saha-0.2 ov), 2-72 (Shubman Gill-7.4 ov), 3-85 (Matthew Wade-9.3 ov)


Result: Gujarat Titans won by seven wickets 

Playing XI
Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicke-keeper), Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Shami, Yash Dayal

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper & captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Obed McCoy, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Titans won the toss & elected to field
Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata, Kolkata
Start time: 2022-05-24 15:00 PM
Match officials:  Bruce Oxenford, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022