Queens All Stars Win NYC Mayor's Cup

Queens All Stars beat Brooklyn, Bronx and Manhattan All Stars to win the New York City Mayor's Cup Cricket All-Star match.

In a relatively low-scoring match, Brooklyn, Bronx and Manhattan were bowled out for 91 in 18 overs.

In reply, Queens made a shaky start before overhauling their target in 17.4 overs.

It was a disappointing batting display from the Brooklyn, Bronx and Manhattan side, who were led by Burhan Saeed.

Saeed, who made 11, was one of just two players to reach double figures - Mohammed Hossain (16) being the other as Keifer Phil, Jason Rooney, Juwel Abel and Rolex Kapali all took two wickets.

Some 25 wides were served up by Queens although this profligacy did not end up costing them dear.

Saeed and Akramul Haque struck early on in the run chase and Mohammed Hasan ran out Rooney before he had faced a ball and Queens were in difficulty at seven for three.

Jason Hall made 12 and Phil would retire on 28, after which Hossain (23 not out in 19 balls) and Nicholas Harripersaud (14 not out) guided Queens home.

The NYC Mayor's Cup is a series of events showcasing the best student athletes from the five boroughs of New York in 10 different sports.

© Cricket World 2014