< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Queensland Cricket U-19 Squad Named

Queensland Cricket U-19 Squad Named
Queensland Cricket U-19 Squad Named

Queensland Bulls rookie contracted pace bowlers Connor Sully and Matt Willans will spearhead the Queensland Under-19 squad for the national championships in Perth in December.

Left-arm paceman Willans is in his first year as a rookie squad member while right-arm quick Sully is in his second season.

The pair will join a host of talented cricketers chasing a spot in the Australia squad for next year’s ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

The Queensland team will be captained by University of Queensland batsman Max Clayton.

The squad contains several players with notable family ties. Gold Coast batsman Jack Cooper is the younger brother of current South Australian batsman Tom Cooper and Sandgate-Redcliffe allrounder Mitch Pascoe is the nephew of one-time Bulls fast bowler Matt Pascoe.

Norths paceman Will Prestwidge is the younger sibling of Queensland and Brisbane Heat pair of Jack and Georgia and son of former Queensland allrounder Scott.

The squad, which will be coached by John Davison, includes Wests Toowoomba player Sam Neale who also plays for Ipswich/Logan in the Brisbane Premier Grade competition.

He is one of two Hornets players in the squad along with Fassifern product Jacob Waters.

Several Queensland youth players were also selected in Cricket Australia’s U17 team of the National Championships that will compete at the National Under-19 titles.

Dylan Kritzinger (Redlands), Jackson Sinfield (Redlands), Tobias Snell (Northern Suburbs), Tom Whitney (Western Suburbs) and Aubrey Stockdale (Toombul) were named after last month’s titles in Mackay. Pace bowlers Whitney and Stockdale will not play in the titles as part of bowler workload management.

The U-19 World Cup will be held from 17 January to 9 February in South Africa, with Australia drawn in Pool B along with England, the West Indies and Nigeria

Queensland U-19 Squad

National Championships from 2-12 December, Perth

Max Clayton (c) (University of Queensland)
Hugo Burdon (Gold Coast)
Jack Cooper (Gold Coast)
Nick McGill (Valley)
Sam Neale (Wests Toowoomba, Ipswich/Logan)
Mitch Pascoe (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Will Prestwidge (Northern Suburbs)
Will Sanders (University of Queensland)
Connor Sully (Northern Suburbs)
Harry Walker (University of Queensland)
Ryan Walker (Toombul)
James Ward (South Brisbane)
Jacob Waters (Ipswich/Logan)
Matthew Willans (University of Queensland)

Coach: John Davison. Assist. Coach: Adam Hollioake. Physio: Jerry Cassell

© Cricket World 2019

Official Cricket Australia Website